Rogers named Warriors' player of the year March 27, 2007

Hussey voted Western Australia's best

Cricinfo staff

Michael Hussey's outstanding Test and ODI form earned him the title of Western Australia's best cricketer this season © Getty Images

Michael Hussey was named Western Australia's best cricketer for the second consecutive year, beating Adam Gilchrist and Justin Langer for the title. Hussey won the Western Australian Cricket Association's Gold Cup for the second time after making 700 Test runs at 87.50 and 781 ODI runs at 48.81 during the voting period.

Hussey also captained Australia for the first time, leading the side in ODIs at the DLF Cup in Malaysia and the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series in New Zealand. Hussey finished with 30 votes, nine clear of Gilchrist on 21, while Langer scored 19.

Chris Rogers not surprisingly won the Lawrie Sawle Medal as the Warriors' player of the year, after a season in which he topped the Pura Cup run tally with 1202 from ten games. It was Rogers' third major award in two months, following on from his honours as Pura Cup Player of the Series and State Player of the Year at the Allan Border Medal.

Aaron Heal received the Coach's Award, Steve Magoffin won the Excalibur Award as the player who best upheld the spirit of the Warriors, and Angele Gray earned the PW Freeman Trophy as the Western Fury player of the year.

The WACA also honoured two of its favourite sons, Kim Hughes and Harold Rowe, who were added to the state's Gallery of Greats, which was designed to recognise outstanding or unique commitment and contribution to cricket in Western Australia. The pair joined last year's inaugural inductees Dennis Lillee, Rod Marsh, Graham McKenzie, John Inverarity and Barry Shepherd.

Hughes was the first Western Australian to captain Australia in Test cricket and led his state to three Sheffield Shield titles. Rowe was a prolific batsman for 25 years in the early 1900s and led an Australian XI against the MCC in 1928-29. He went on to become chairman of the WACA executive from 1931 to 1946 and was instrumental in gaining the state entry into the Sheffield Shield competition.