Bangladesh Premier League 2016-17 December 9, 2016

Dhaka clinch Bangladesh Premier League title with 56-run win


Dhaka Dynamites 159 for 9 (Lewis 45, Farhad 3-28) beat Rajshahi Kings 103 (Mominul 27, Jayed 2-12) by 56 runs

Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Player of the Match Kumar Sangakkara scored a 33-ball 36 to lift Dhaka to 159 in the finals © Daily Star

Dhaka Dynamites clinched the Bangladesh Premier League in style, as they dismantled Rajshahi Kings to win by 56 runs in front of a full house in Mirpur. This is the third triumph for a Dhaka franchise in four BPLs, with the Gladiators having won in the 2012 and 2013 editions.

It was also sweet revenge for Dhaka who were beaten by Rajshahi in both their league games earlier in the tournament. Rajshahi, one of two new franchises this season, were left dejected after having made a late dash into the final by beating Chittagong Vikings and Khulna Titans in the playoffs.

While they would be proud of their overall campaign, their top order left the middle and lower order too much to do in the final, as they collapsed from 62-1 to 98-8, losing seven wickets for 36 runs as they tried to chase down 160. They were eventually bowled out for 103 in 17.4 overs.

Nurul Hasan, like he has in most of this BPL, holed out to mid-off after hitting a boundary in the third over. Mominul Haque and Sabbir Rahman added 47 runs for the second wicket which led the recovery but they were dismissed within four deliveries of each other. Mehedi Maruf's direct hit from short fine-leg found Sabbir a few inches short while Mominul, who made 27 off 30, was given out leg-before although the Shakib Al Hasan delivery appeared to have been missing off-stump.

Rajshahi's chase was hence dependent on Samit Patel, James Franklin and Darren Sammy, but the big-hitting trio fell in three consecutive overs when it mattered the most.

In the 13th over, Franklin chipped left-arm spinner Sunzamul Islam to deep midwicket before Shakib's arm-ball bowled Sammy after he had struck a six off the previous ball. Dhaka removed Patel in the 15th over, brilliantly caught by Andre Russell who ran forward at least 15 yards from long-off and dived full length. They also didn't forget to mimick Rajshahi's selfie celebration at this point.

The final ended on a sour note after Kesrick Williams was struck on his right elbow by a full-blooded and needless return throw from Bravo. Williams was floored for several minutes, before walking back to the pavilion retired hurt. The trophy was clinched when Nazmul Islam's top-edge off Russell was easily caught by Kumar Sangakkara who had earlier played an important hand to see Dhaka through to 159.

Dhaka had stuttered through most of their 20 overs. Maruf was dropped twice, on 1 and 6, before giving a catch to point off his namesake Mehedi in the fourth over. Nasir Hossain, who also survived a chance on 4, was stumped off Afif Hossain's well angled delivery later in the same over before Darren Sammy trapped Mosaddek Hossain leg-before for 5.

But Evin Lewis bided his time at the other end, before getting into the groove. He'd hit eight boundaries to reach 45 when Rajshahi removed him with a poor Farhad Reza delivery down the leg-side that had Lewis fall over while flicking it to short fine-leg. Dhaka's big-hitting trio of Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell and Shakib Al Hasan didn't come good either, leaving much of the hitting to Sangakkara.

Left to bat with the tail-enders, Sangakkara scooped Kesrick Williams for a six - only the second of the innings - in the 19th over, before he and Sunzamul managed to take 15 runs from the last over, which ultimately gave Dhaka an above-average score which proved too formidable for Rajshahi.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dibasic on December 10, 2016, 4:17 GMT

    Congratulations Dhaka. Happy to see Dhaka with the champion trophy. But I was expecting Shakib will score some runs as well as Nasir. Also was eager to see batting of Sabbir. Anyhow, good luck my favourite players. NZ tour is coming. Please put your best to win over NZ. Good luck.

  • Maduwantha on December 10, 2016, 4:03 GMT

    @ Trinikanywest, Sangakara got the MOM because he made it possible to achieve a challenging score with intelligent batting suit to the situation.

  • A.Awal on December 10, 2016, 3:52 GMT

    Overall a very good and entertaining tournament.

  • mngc1 on December 10, 2016, 3:08 GMT

    @insidehedge. In Russell, Bravo, Sammy and Pollard (who has regained form in SA after injury) WI has 4 of the best allrounders in the world but don't care to use them to achieve the best results. For those who have not followed Cape Cobras in SA, Pollard became captain after the first 2 matches lost. He is averaging 46 at SR 181 so far.

  • cricket1genie on December 10, 2016, 1:22 GMT

    Yet again..foreigners outperforming locals. Selectors from bangladesh must be the most confused people on the planet...cant blame them one bit. Having to deal with fans with upmost expectations and very little talent to chose from. Waiting for Asia cup and Afghanistan playing Bangladesh...Afghan boys will emerge and claim their spot in the ICC

  • InsideHedge on December 10, 2016, 0:07 GMT

    So Russell wins yet another T20 Trophy with a domestic team. His only blot is Finals day failure at Edgbaston with Nottinghamshire Outlaws when they crashed out in the semi, I think to eventual winners Northants Steelbacks.

    Otherwise Dre Russ has won with every domestic franchise team about 2 yrs running. It seems the secret to a title is to simply sign him up.

  • YHG4335 on December 9, 2016, 20:03 GMT

    @trinikanyewest Came in at 42-3 and ensured that Dhaka got over 150. Lewis got out at when the score was 83, Dhaka still could have collapsed to a below par total.

  • trinikanyewest on December 9, 2016, 19:04 GMT

    Keswick Williams should be in all formats for wi, kid got talent and heart. Stupid wicb.

  • trinikanyewest on December 9, 2016, 19:01 GMT

    Congrations to dhaka d/espesically dre russ, lewis and all wi involved in win. Sammy came good last game couldnt 2nite, best of luck next time. Ps why did sagakarra get MoM, lewis made more runs at better sr, did he take spectacular catch?

  • Redhill on December 9, 2016, 18:09 GMT

    Congrats to Dhaka from a Lankan fan. I was cheering for you but I kinda wished to see Sammy pull off another winning performance. Bravo will have to be severely reprimanded for that needless throw. A temporary ban is in order. Players must be discouraged from commiting such actions.

  • No featured comments at the moment.