Shakib's swoop, Gazi's drop
The delayed return
Mushfiqur Rahim took a baffling decision to keep Shakib Al Hasan out of the attack for much of Thisara Perera and Sachitra Senanayake's 14-over stand. The pair blasted 82 runs in the interim, with none of the spinners or Rubel Hossain finding a way to break the partnership. Shakib had bowled just four overs, and was waiting for his turn, and had also gone close to ending the stand with a fine diving effort from short midwicket. He eventually made a breakthrough by foxing Senanayake, but by then it was far too late a move from the captain.
Shakib was having a superb time during the Sri Lanka collapse, the zenith being his dive, swoop and throw which accounted for Dinesh Chandimal's run-out. The ball seemed set to go past him at cover, but the dive threw off the two batsmen in the middle, and as they couldn't decide which way to turn, Shakib threw the ball on the turn while on the ground, and returned it to Arafat Sunny, who took a moment to break the stumps after being far too excited at first.
The hero to zero moment
Sohag Gazi suffered a loss of fortune in a matter of minutes. He first had an indirect role to play in the Kithuruwan Vithanage run-out, by moving behind, and pressing the oncoming batsman to move further to the left, thereby winning a split second as Mushfiqur Rahim threw down the stumps. Just six balls later, though, Gazi crucially dropped Thisara at long-on, and it changed the course of the Sri Lanka innings dramatically.
In the 20th over, after Shamsur Rahman's bat had got stuck just short of the crease as he was completing a run, third umpire Anisur Rahman took more than five minutes to decide whether both of Shamsur's feet were in the air when the bails were taken off. Anisur finally decided to give Shamsur out, although the number of replays and the ensuing doubt suggests he was not entirely sure. The TV commentary didn't quite agree with the decision too, but Shamsur walked back, rather slowly. It was a moment of misfortune that had a big impact on the final outcome of the match.
Mahmudullah's body language has often given the wrong vibe, but his laidback approach was never viewed as a major hindrance. In the 38th over, however, he froze at long-on when the ball came at him, and it looked awful in the replay. Thisara had smashed one straight towards him and Mahmudullah actually moved away from the line of the ball. It went for a one-bounce four and Thisara made him pay further by hammering the next ball for a six.
Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. He tweets here