India in Bangladesh 2009-10 January 5, 2010

Sudeep Tyagi included in Test squad

Cricinfo staff

Sudeep Tyagi, the Uttar Pradesh fast bowler, has been included in the squad for the two-Test series in Bangladesh. Tyagi, who made his Twenty20 and ODI debuts against Sri Lanka in December, is one of four fast bowlers in the 16-man squad, which had no major changes from the team that beat Sri Lanka 2-0 recently.

Dinesh Karthik made the cut as a reserve wicketkeeper, while Tamil Nadu batsman M Vijay was drafted in as a reserve opener. The list also included three spinners in Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha and Amit Mishra .

Sachin Tendulkar, who was rested from the ongoing tri-nation tournament in Bangladesh, will return to action for the two matches to be held in Chittagong (from January 17-21) and Mirpur (January 24-28). Tamil Nadu middle-order batsman S Badrinath, who featured in the Test squad against Sri Lanka, was omitted for the tour.

Squad: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Virender Sehwag (vice-capt), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Sudeep Tyagi.