India in Bangladesh 2009-10 January 11, 2010

Shafiul Islam included for India Tests

Cricinfo staff

Shakib Al Hasan will continue to lead the Bangladesh Test side for the two-match series against India in the absence of Mashrafe Mortaza, who still has not recovered from a knee injury. Mortaza had also missed the ongoing tri-series despite being named in the preliminary squad.

There were no major surprises in the 14-man squad for the series as the selectors opted for nearly the same set of players who toured the West Indies last July and swept the series 2-0. Fast bowler Shafiul Islam, who made his international debut in the ongoing tri-series, is the only player in the squad without Test experience.

Besides Mortaza, allrounder Mehrab Hossain jnr and reserve wicketkeeper Saghir Hossain were left out from the squad which had gone to the West Indies. Opener Shahriar Nafees earned a Test recall after quitting ties with the Indian Cricket League. Nafees is the fourth opener in the squad besides Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes and Junaid Siddique.

The first Test starts on January 17 in Chittagong.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (vice-capt/wk), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Enamul Haque jnr, Mahbubul Alam, Shafiul Islam.