February 1, 2008


Scotland and Germany big winners

ESPNcricinfo staff

The ICC Development Program has announced the regional winners of the 2007 Annual Awards. Scotland and Germany were the biggest winners in the Europe region, picking up two awards each.

Scotland received the awards for the best overall cricket development program and best cricket promotion and marketing. Cricket Scotland had a particularly successful 2007 as its grassroots programme grew significantly.

Germany was awarded the best women’s initiative award for an Under-17 women’s tournament held in Oldenburg in February and the best junior initiative award for its “Cricket to German Schools” project which has helped double the number of school children participating in cricket across Germany.

John Wright of Ireland was awarded the Lifetime Service Award. John is set to retire from his duties as Honorary Secretary of the Irish Cricket Union this weekend after years of service to cricket in both Ireland and Europe.

Elsewhere across the globe, two countries Bermuda and Namibia received three awards each, and, aside from Germany and Scotland, five other member countries collected two awards each: Botswana, Nepal, Indonesia, Japan and Vanuatu.

Two members – Peru, who only joined the ICC as an Affiliate member in 2007, and Suriname – received prizes for the first time.


RSS Feeds: Jenny Thompson

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.