October 10, 2008

World Cricket League

Botswana are Division Two champions

Tony Munro

Botswana have won the World Cricket League Africa Division Two tournament, finishing unbeaten after their six-wicket win over Mozambique in Benoni yesterday. In the day's other matches, Zambia defeated Swaziland by 156 runs and Nigeria beat Ghana by 70 runs.

Botswana restricted Mozambique to 174 all out after they were 106 for 2 at one stage. Tshepo Mhozya was the most effective bowler, taking 5 for 32 for Botswana. Abdul Patel, the Man of the Match, then steered Botswana home with an unbeaten 71.

It's not known at this stage if or when Botswana will play in the Africa Division One tournament against Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya and Namibia as there is confusion about whether it will be played.

There were bright points for other teams in the tournament. Nigeria won their first match against Associate level opposition for some time when it beat Zambia to finish in second place. Endurance Ofem, the opener, scored the tournament's only century.

For the two teams promoted from Division Three, Ghana and Swaziland, playing in the tournament was a victory in itself. Most of Ghana's squad are under 20 and gained from the experience, while Swaziland were a late addition to the Division Three tournament in March so reaching this stage was a bonus.

Mozambique blooded several 18 year olds, and they, too, are making progress in developing local talent.

The final placings were: 1 - Botswana, 2 - Nigeria, 3 - Zambia, 4 - Mozambique, 5 - Ghana, 6 - Swaziland.

Results of fourth day matches were: Botswana 134 for 6 beat Zambia by four wickets. Nigeria 105 beat Mozambique 91 by 14 runs. Ghana 210 for 6 Swaziland 209 for 9 by four wickets


RSS Feeds: Tony Munro

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.