December 10, 2008


Aloha, cricket. Hawaii goes all Twenty20

Will Luke

The Hawaii Premier League (HPL) was successfully launched as Hawaii’s first Twenty20 competition in October. The league is scheduled to hold tournaments twice a year each November and May. The first three teams were comprised of all-star cricket players from Oahu and Maui. The three teams wore different coloured uniforms and were named the Master Batters, Spitting Cobras and Terminators.

The tournament has plans to expand to include mainland cricket teams in 2009 before expanding further to include international teams from Asia and Oceania. The plan is to expand the Hawaii Premier League into an international competition, in a tournament structure beginning in May 2010.

The month-long competition in October featured several close matches and after six matches all three teams were level with two wins and two defeats. The Spitting Cobras and Master Batters made the final by virtue of securing the most bonus points. The final went to the Spitting Cobras who batted first and amassed 160 runs including 99 runs from 47 balls by Mark Berwick. The Master Batters got off to a promising start but were restricted to 127.


Will Luke is assistant editor of ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Will Luke

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Will Luke
Assistant editor Will opted against a lifetime of head-bangingly dull administration in the NHS, where he had served for two years. In 2005 came a break at Cricinfo where he slotted right in as a ferociously enthusiastic tea drinker and maker, with a penchant for using "frankly" and "marvellous". He also runs The Corridor, a cricket blog where he can be found ranting and raving about all things - some even involving the sport. He is a great-great nephew of Sir Jack Newman, the former Wellingtonian bowler who took two wickets at 127 apiece for New Zealand.

All articles by this writer