March 22, 2010

World Cricket League

Ireland begin title defence against Kenya

Andrew McGlashan

Ireland will begin the defence of their World Cricket League Division 1 title against Kenya when the 10-day tournament begins in Netherlands on July 1.

The hosts start off against Scotland while Afghanistan, who recently qualified for the World Twenty20 in West Indies, open against Canada in the six-team event. For Ireland, Canada, Kenya and Netherlands the competition will allow them to continue planning for the 2011 World Cup after the four teams qualified through the previous WCL Division 1 event, in South Africa, last year.

It was at that tournament that Afghanistan narrowly missed out on reach the World Cup when then finished fifth, but made up for that disappointment with their Twenty20 success last month.

A total of 18 matches will be played in this year's tournament which will be staged in a single-league format with the top two sides qualifying for the final and the other four teams squaring-off in the play-off matches on the last day of the tournament.

For a full fixture list click here.


Andrew McGlashan is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Andrew McGlashan

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Andrew McGlashan
Assistant Editor Andrew arrived at ESPNcricinfo via Manchester and Cape Town, after finding the assistant editor at a weak moment as he watched England's batting collapse in the Newlands Test. Andrew began his cricket writing as a freelance covering Lancashire during 2004 when they were relegated in the County Championship. In fact, they were top of the table when he began reporting on them but things went dramatically downhill. He likes to let people know that he is a supporter of county cricket, a fact his colleagues will testify to and bemoan in equal quantities.

All articles by this writer