July 11, 2002

FICA PricewaterhouseCoopers International Awards 2002


FICA PricewaterhouseCoopers International Cricketer of the Year 2002

Winner: Adam Gilchrist

Including some of the most destructive batting of modern times Adam scored 1166 runs in just 19 innings this year, including four centuries and four fifties. Highest score was 204* v South Africa in Johannesburg. Currently No.1 in the PwC Ratings, in reaching that he achieved the highest rating ever for a wicket-keeper batsman, beating the peak set by Andy Flower in 2001. In addition to his batting he took 52 catches and made 5 stumpings.


Muttiah Muralitharan, Sri Lanka
Sachin Tendulkar, India
Jacques Kallis, South Africa
Adam Gilchrist, Australia
Mahela Jayawardene, Sri Lanka
Matthew Hayden, Australia

FICA PricewaterhouseCoopers International Young Player of the Year 2002

Winner: Kumar Sangakkara


Virender Sehwag, India
Matthew Hoggard, England
Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara, Sri Lanka
Ramnaresh Ronnie Sarwan, West Indies

FICA Wisden Cricket Monthly Place in History Award 2002

Winners: Justin Langer and Matthew Hayden


Justin Langer and Matthew Hayden
4 double century opening partnerships in 6 Test matches

Nathan Astle
Fastest double century in Test cricket

Shane Warne
6 for 161 in 70 overs in his 100th Test Match

Mark Butcher
173 not out v Australia 4th Test at Headingley

FICA Regus International Special Merit Award 2002

Winner: Eric Loxton

FICA recognise a select number of individuals who have made a special contribution to cricket during their lifetime. Eric Loxton has recently retired ending 45 years of service to International Cricket. He started playing for Yorkshire Schools and the English Cricket Association before he went on to play county cricket for Nottinghamshire. He has played professional cricket in the Yorkshire League as well as the Huddersfield league and is still playing today having just agreed to play another season for Denby Grange as their star wicketkeeper.

Throughout his many years of batmaking, he has made bats for some of the finest players in the world including Mark Waugh, Sachin Tendlukar, Imran Khan, Viv Richards, Geoffrey Boycott, Graham Gooch and Aravinda de Silva.

FICA Slazenger International Sheer Instinct Award 2002

Winner: Mark Butcher


Mark Butcher    - 173 not out v Australia 4th Test at Headingley
Waquar Younis   - v England 7 for 36, Nat West Series 7th Match
Andrew Flintoff - Close of play victory England v India ODI
Steve Waugh     - comeback 100 v England in 5th Ashes Test

FICA International Team of the Year 2002

Winner: Australian Test Team

Australia beat England 4-1, drew 0-0 in rain affected series with NZ, then in the clash of the top two Test teams beat South Africa 3-0 in Australia, and then 2-1 in South Africa, establishing them beyond question as the best Test team in the world today.


Australian Test Team
Sri Lanka Test Team
Australia One-Day International Team

Previous winners of the FICA PricewaterhouseCoopers International Player of the Year Award:

1998  Steve Waugh, Australia
1999  Brian Lara, West Indies
2000  Glen McGrath, Australia
2001  Andy Flower, Zimbabwe