Media Release January 22, 2004

New Director to join Cricket Australia Board

South Australian Cricket Association President, the Hon Ian McLachlan AO, has been appointed by the SACA Board as a replacement for former Director, Trevor Robertson, on the Board of Cricket Australia.

Mr Robertson, a Cricket Australia Director since 1996, and a former South Australian state wicketkeeper, has resigned from the Board to become the inaugural Director of the new Brisbane-based Centre of Excellence.

Cricket Australia Chairman Bob Merriman said he and fellow Directors looked forward to welcoming Mr McLachlan's valuable combination of cricket, commercial and political expertise to the Board. Mr McLachlan played 72 first class games, scoring 3743 runs at an average of 31.72 and with a top score of 188 not out. He also served as a Federal Government Minister, and has extensive business and community interests.

Mr Merriman also paid tribute to Mr Robertson's significant contribution as a Cricket Australia Board member, where his involvement included chairing the Board's game development committee, national indigenous cricket committee and the ICC East Asia Pacific cricket committee, and congratulated him on his selection as the inaugural Director of the Centre of Excellence.

Cricket Australia has a Board of 14 Directors appointed by its six member associations: Cricket NSW; Cricket Victoria; Queensland Cricket; the South Australian Cricket Association; the Tasmanian Cricket Association and the Western Australian Cricket Association.

The Board's first meeting for 2004 is due to be held in Melbourne in mid-February.