Bermuda news

Tucker appointed captain for qualifiers

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 14, 2013

Text size: A | A

Janeiro Tucker hit three sixes in the final over to beat PNG, Bermuda v Papua New Guinea, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers, Dubai, March 19, 2012
Janeiro Tucker has been appointed Bermuda captain © ICC/Ian Jacobs
Related Links
Players/Officials: Janeiro Tucker
Series/Tournaments: ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier
Teams: Bermuda

38-year-old veteran Janeiro Tucker has been appointed Bermuda captain for next month's World T20 qualifier, for which they named a 15-man squad.

Bermuda aim to shrug off the one-hit wonder tag at the tournament as they target a place back at a major event for the first time since the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies - to date their only appearance at a global competition.

"I am happy to congratulate Janeiro Tucker on his appointment," Bermuda Cricket Board president Lloyd Fray said. "Janeiro has been an outstanding player at domestic and international level for a number of years and has a keen cricket mind. He is respected by the players and our community and is a proven leader on and off the cricket field.

"Many of us remember one of Bermuda's proudest moments in July 2005 when Bermuda qualified for the 2007 Cricket World Cup. I hope that we all remember that is was Janeiro Tucker who was captain at that time, he had taken over the reins when Clay Smith was injured in an early match, and he lead our country to qualification. I hope that proves to be a lucky omen for our country in next month's tournament."

The squad will travel to Dubai on November 8 for two warm-up matches against Italy and Canada before their first qualifier in Group B against Scotland on November 15.

Bermuda squad for World T20 qualifier
Janeiro Tucker (capt), Dion Stovell, Kwame Tucker, Christian Burgess, David Hemp, Terryn Fray, Tre Manders, Christopher Douglas, Allan Douglas Jnr, Jacobi Robinson, Derrick Brangman, Lionel Cann, Malachi Jones, Kamau Leverock, Kamal Bashir

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Afghanistan v Ireland at Abu Dhabi - Nov 30, 2013
Ireland won by 68 runs
U.A.E. v Nepal at Abu Dhabi - Nov 30, 2013
Nepal won by 5 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
U.A.E. v Ireland at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Ireland won by 62 runs
Afghanistan v Nepal at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Afghanistan won by 7 wickets (with 34 balls remaining)
Hong Kong v Netherlands at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Netherlands won by 7 wickets (with 8 balls remaining)
P.N.G. v Scotland at Abu Dhabi - Nov 29, 2013
Scotland won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days