India news

Ganguly opts out of IPL 2013

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 28, 2012

Comments: 66 | Text size: A | A

Sourav Ganguly speaks during the cricket clinic, Hong Kong, June 29, 2011
Sourav Ganguly could return for Bengal later in the Ranji season © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Sourav Ganguly
Series/Tournaments: Ranji Trophy | Indian Domestic Season
Teams: India

Sourav Ganguly will not be available as a player for the Pune Warriors franchise during next year's IPL, a decision which was agreed upon mutually between Ganguly and the franchise. Ganguly, who was the captain of Pune Warriors last season, spoke to Subroto Roy, the owner of the Pune franchise, on Saturday night in this regard ahead of the October 31 deadline for the submission of the list of players for the next IPL. The decision marks an end to Ganguly's competitive cricket career which spanned 22 years starting from his first-class debut in 1989-90.

Ganguly also opted out of the Bengal Ranji Trophy squad for the upcoming season. Despite retiring from international cricket in 2008, Ganguly, 40, had continued to play the Ranji Trophy, captaining Bengal in most of their first-class matches last season. In Ganguly's absence, Manoj Tiwary has been named Bengal captain for the 2012-13 season.

One of the Bengal board's joint secretaries, though, said that Ganguly could return later in the season. "He would not play the first two matches, but depending on our team's position we may get his services later on," Sujan Mukherjee said. "It's a youthful side but we have players with international experience, looking forward to a positive season."

Ganguly had a difficult time last IPL season as the Pune team finished bottom of the table with just four wins in 16 matches. His personal form was similarly poor, as he managed only 268 runs in 15 innings at less than a run-a-ball and also looked slow in the field. Roy, the Pune team owner, had said during the IPL that Ganguly would not play next season, and be a team mentor instead, but no decision was taken then.

Bengal squad: Manoj Tiwary (capt), Parthasarathi Bhattacharjee, Rohan Banerjee, Jayojit Basu, Writam Porel, Anustup Majumdar, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Iresh Saxena, Ashok Dinda, Sourav Sarkar, Arnab Nandy, Veer Pratap Singh, Subhomoy Das and Aritra Chatterjee

This story was updated on 05:00 GMT, October 29

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by timtom on (October 30, 2012, 9:09 GMT)

Brought attitude to team , got out due to attitude... Lets hope there is no more comeback... Better late than never...

Posted by jaison_cricfan on (October 30, 2012, 8:36 GMT)

Dada should help Associate countries and may be could coach them and bring his champion spirit in up coming teams. Truely a legend none can replace..

Posted by sandy_bangalore on (October 30, 2012, 8:09 GMT)

@ Ayush Chauhan: Revived dravid? Dravid was dropped in 1997, and went back to domestic ODI competetions and then came back and top scored in the 1999 WC. And Ganguly FYI was captain in 2000. Dravid was well established then. In fact , to save his spot when he was non-performing in 2002-2003, he made Dravid as WK against his wishes, so that he could play and continue his single digit run. Proof? Checkout: gangulys scores during NZ tour 2002-03. ANd then his scores in the WC 2003. Made 3 big scores. Opponets: kenya(twice) and Nanimbia. A classic flat pitch champion!! ANd also, selectors selected Zaheer, bhajji and Yuvraj. Not ganguly! Ganguly had to back them because they were matchwinners, and also there were no fall back options. . And why are you conveniently forgetting his handling of kumble, karthik, chopra etc? Didnt he push Yuvi to open and expose him to the new ball in pak 2004, despite CHopra doing well in Oz? A self serving cricketer to the core!

Posted by Ayush_Chauhan on (October 30, 2012, 7:44 GMT)

@ sandy_bangalore You are probably the fan who backs result, if you didn't, you would remember how Saurav ruffled Steve Waugh, how he single handedly revived Rahul's career as an ODI player, as someone who gave India Harbhajan, Yuvraj and Zaheer. Ganguly took the reigns when Indian cricket was in shambles..from there to the World Cup last year, its been a journey. But you would'nt know that cause you look at results.

Posted by   on (October 30, 2012, 7:33 GMT)

Today is a block day for Dada Fans He is best Captain in India and nobody can beat him

Posted by   on (October 30, 2012, 7:28 GMT)

A very good news for Pune Team.

Posted by anver777 on (October 30, 2012, 6:15 GMT)

A late decision but a right decision !!!!!!

Posted by sandy_bangalore on (October 30, 2012, 6:02 GMT)

Overrated as player, overrated as captain! Had the great fortune of captaining Tendulkar and Kumble when they were at their peaks, and then took all credit. Had he captained in 2011, the 8-0 would have stayed 8-0!

Posted by masoodali150 on (October 30, 2012, 5:55 GMT)

Good decision at least one of you let down, now waiting for Sachin and Rahul to announce the same news as early as possible as no IPL Franchise is looking to adopt you atleast as a 12th man.

Posted by   on (October 30, 2012, 2:55 GMT)

High time he retired from all form and do commentary. Seems to have adapted quite well too.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd Test: Australia v India at Melbourne - Dec 26-30
Australia 530 & 261/7 India 465
Group C: Assam v H. Pradesh at Guwahati - Dec 28-31
H. Pradesh 549/4d Assam 18/0
Group A: Bengal v Mumbai at Kolkata - Dec 28-31
Mumbai 414 Bengal 130/6
Group B: Delhi v Gujarat at Delhi - Dec 28-31
Delhi 425/6d Gujarat 34/1
Group B: Haryana v Odisha at Rohtak - Dec 28-31
Haryana 127 Odisha 232/9
Group C: Hyderabad v Services at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Dec 28-31
Services 306 Hyderabad 210/3
Group C: Jharkhand v Kerala at Dhanbad - Dec 28-31
Jharkhand 337 Kerala 179/5
Group A: M. Pradesh v Baroda at Gwalior - Dec 28-31
Baroda 358 M. Pradesh 103/3
Group B: Rajasthan v Vidarbha at Jaipur - Dec 28-31
Vidarbha 296 Rajasthan 188
Group B: Saurashtra v Punjab at Rajkot - Dec 28-31
Punjab 659/7d Saurashtra 27/0
Group A: Tamil Nadu v Railways at Chennai - Dec 28-31
Tamil Nadu 144/4
Group C: Tripura v Goa at Agartala - Dec 28-31
Goa 251 Tripura 139/5
Group A: U. Pradesh v J + K at Kanpur - Dec 28-31
U. Pradesh 267/5
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days