January 8, 2002

Umpires announced for India-England ODIs

Staff Reporter

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the list of umpires called up to do duty in the forthcoming one-day series between England and India. Although not as prestigious as standing in the longer version of the game, there is great demand to umpire one-dayers as well. Most umpires trying to make a mark see the one-dayers as a stepping stone to bigger things.

Unlike Test matches, there is no qualification stipulated by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to stand in one-dayers. The BCCI has a rotation policy in place by which umpires are selected from a national pool on a series by series basis. The following is the complete list of umpires for the ODI series:

1st ODI: 19 Jan 2002 at Kotkata: Umpires: K Hariharan and SK Sharma TV Umpire: SN Bandekar Reserve Umpire: LP Verma

2nd ODI: 22 Jan 2002 at Cuttack: Umpires: K Parthasarathy and VK Ramaswamy TV Umpire: MR Singh Reserve Umpire: KG Lakshminarayan

3rd ODI: 25 Jan 2002 at Chennai: Umpires: V Chopra and DD Sharma TV Umpire: BA Jamula Reserve Umpire: S Dendapani

4th ODI: 28 Jan 2002 at Kanpur: Umpires: CR Mohite and I Shivram TV Umpire: SV Ramani Reserve Umpire: TR Kashyappan

5th ODI: 31 Jan 2002 at New Delhi Umpires: A Bhattacharjee and SK Porel TV Umpire: BK Sadashiva Reserve Umpire: BSP Rao

6th ODI: 3 Feb 2002 at Mumbai Umpires: MS Mahal and SC Gupta TV Umpire: NN Menon Reserve Umpire: Des Raj