April 8, 2003

Elite A complete seven-wicket win over Elite B

Staff Reporter

A century from Sridharan Sriram and a seven-wicket haul from Sarandeep Singh were the highlights of Elite A's seven-wicket win over Elite B at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Sunday.

Batting first after skipper MSK Prasad won the toss, Elite B made 219 before being all out in their first innings. This despite a strong start which had seen them reach 98/1 at one stage. Opener Wasim Jaffer, who made 62, and No 3 Vinayak Mane, who made 39, were the only two Elite B batsmen to make any impression. For Elite A, new-ball bowler Irafan Pathan Junior and off-spinner Sarandeep Singh claimed three wickets each.

When Elite A replied, they were given a rousing start by Gautam Gambhir (44) and Sanjay Bangar (57), who put on 104 for the opening wicket. With No 3 Sriram (130) and Yelahanka Venguopal Rao (51) also making impressive contributions, Elite A managed to earn a 143-run first-innings lead, before skipper Reetinder Singh Sodhi declared with the score reading 362/8.

Despite being faced with the prospect of an outright defeat, Elite B were to fare no better in their second innings. Only a 91-run eight wicket partnership between Sairaj Bahutule (49) and Gyanendra Pandey (47) helped them post 220, which left Elite A needing just 78 for victory.

With Sanjay Bangar (36*) anchoring the innings, Elite A got there with seven wickets and plenty of overs to spare. They were rewarded with eight points for their efforts.