Indian domestic season 2008-09 January 28, 2009

Mumbai dominate CEAT cricket awards

Cricinfo staff

Wasim Jaffer was one of a few Mumbai players to be felicitated at this year's CEAT awards © Cricinfo Ltd.

Mumbai players dominated this year's CEAT cricket awards with Wasim Jaffer, the Mumbai captain, named the Indian Cricketer of the Year after scoring the most runs in the Ranji Trophy.

Jaffer, who scored 1260 runs at 84, with four hundreds, including a triple-century, was awarded Rs 2 lakh by CEAT, who have been doing domestic cricket ratings since 2005.

Saurashtra's Cheteshwar Pujara was named the Indian Batsman of the Year for his 906 runs that played a crucial role in taking his side to the Ranji semis. Along with Mumbai's Dhawal Kulkarni, Bowler of the Year for his table-topping 42 Ranji wickets, Pujara received Rs 1 lakh.

Saurav Netravalkar, the Mumbai left-arm pace bowler, was awarded the Under-19 Cricketer of the Year for his performance in the Cooch Behar Trophy. He will receive Rs 1 lakh.

Mumbai won the age-group tournament by beating Punjab in the final. Ashok Mankad, the Indian Test batsman from Mumbai who passed away last year, was posthumously given the lifetime achievement award.

"It's good that CEAT has established awards for performances in domestic competitions. Such incentives boost the performance of the cricketers," said chief guest BS Chandrasekhar, the former India spinner. "I hope the domestic award winners advance in their career and go on to win international awards."