South Africa in India 2009-10 February 7, 2010

Charl Langeveldt added to ODI squad

Cricinfo staff

Fast bowler Charl Langeveldt has been added to South Africa's ODI squad for the three-match series in India. Langeveldt's inclusion adds further strength to a pace attack comprising four specialists - Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Wayne Parnell - and two allrounders - Jacques Kallis and Albie Morkel.

"We do not believe that we have all our bases covered at the moment in the bowling department," Gerald Majola, Cricket South Africa's chief executive and convenor of the national selection panel, said. "We have two major ICC tournaments coming up - first the ICC World Twenty20 in the West Indies and then next year's ICC World Cup on the subcontinent - and it is important that we explore all our options.

"Charl also brings much needed experience to our attack. He has played 64 matches while Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Wayne Parnell have played only 67 matches between them. Johan Botha is the only other specialist bowler in the squad with 50 ODI appearances."

Langeveldt, who was part of the team that played England, had initially been omitted from the 15-man squad chosen by the selection panel headed by Mike Procter.

ODI squad: Graeme Smith, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe.