Pakistan A v Australia A, 1st Test, Faisalabad, September 11, 2007

Hasan Raza included in Pakistan A Test squad

Cricinfo staff

Yasir Hameed, who made two centuries in the limited-overs matches against Australia A, has been included in Test squad © AFP

Hasan Raza, currently leading Karachi Urban against Mumbai in the Mohammad Nissar trophy, has been called up to the Pakistan A squad for the first Test against Australia A along with Asim Kamal, after the two had failed to make it to the one-day team.

Pakistan won all three ODIs against Australia and were scheduled to play two Tests - in Faisalabad from September 12 to 15 and in Lahore from September 19 to 22.

While internationals Yasir Hameed, who made two centuries in the one-day games, and Taufeeq Umar retained their place in the Test side, Tahir Khan, Shahid Yousuf, Rafatullah Mohmand and Junaid Zia missed out. Sohail Tanvir, the Rawalpindi allrounder who was named as Shoaib Akhtar's replacement in Pakistan's Twenty20 team, left the A squad for South Africa.

Adnan Raza, Lahore's left-hand batsman, and Rizwan Ahmed, the Hyderabad allrounder, were the new players in the side.

Australia named an unchanged squad from the ODIs but Stuart MacGill, the legspinner, arrived in Pakistan only in time for the Tests and should boost his team's chances.

Pakistan A: Faisal Iqbal (capt), Taufeeq Umar, Hasan Raza, Khalid Latif, Yasir Hameed, Naved Latif, Adnan Raza, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Mansoor Amjad, Atif Maqbool, Mohammad Khalil, Abdul Rauf, Mohammad Irshad, Najaf Shah and Rizwan Ahmed.

Australia A: Phil Jaques, Chris Rogers, David Hussey, Adam Voges (capt), Cameron White, Luke Ronchi (wk), James Hopes, Jason Gillespie, Ashley Noffke, Cullen Bailey, Dan Cullen, Luke Butterworth, Doug Bollinger and Stuart MacGill.