Pakistan cricket July 11, 2009

Hafeez dropped from 'A' team to tour Sri Lanka

Cricinfo staff

Faisal Iqbal will lead a 16-man Pakistan 'A' squad on a tour of Sri Lanka in August, interim chief selector Wasim Bari said on Friday. Iqbal is currently in Sri Lanka as part of the senior national team, as is opener Khurram Manzoor who was also named in the 'A' side.

Pakistan 'A' is currently touring Australia, and two players - captain Mohammad Hafeez and Azeem Ghumman - from that side have been left out for the matches against Sri Lanka 'A'. The tour of Australia ends on July 18, with two ODIs and a Twenty20 yet to played.

Khan Research Laboratories left-arm spinner Nayyer Abbas and Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited legspinner Yasir Shah are the two newcomers in the side to visit Sri Lanka, after failing to make the cut for the Australia trip.

In Sri Lanka, the 'A' team will play two four-day games and five ODIs from August 2 to August 28.

Squad: Khalid Latif, Umar Amin, Azhar Ali, Khurram Manzoor, Umar Akmal, Faisal Iqbal (capt), Fahad Iqbal, Sheharyar Ghani, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Mohammad Talha, Fahad Masood, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Rehman, Yasir Shah, Naved Arif, Nayyar Abbas.