Pakistan domestic news September 21, 2011

Faysal Bank T20 moved to Karachi

ESPNcricinfo staff

Pakistan's domestic Twenty20 competition, the Faysal Bank National T20, has been shifted from Lahore to Karachi owing to the continuing outbreak of dengue in the Punjab province. More than 7000 people have been affected since the disease broke out in August.

There was growing speculation over the last few weeks that the tournament would be shifted, and after a meeting between the PCB and Pakistan president Asif Ali Zardari, the decision was taken to move the tournament following a directive from the president himself on Wednesday.

The 14-team tournament is scheduled between September 25 and October 2 at Karachi's National Stadium. The event had been shifted to Lahore after the original venue, Rawalpindi, was deemed unfit to host the event. Last year's tournament was held in Lahore and the Lahore Lions were the winners.

The Twenty20 tournament will feature 14 sides as opposed to last year's 13; a team from Afghanistan will take part in the tournament for the first time, which means the teams will fight for the top spot in four groups to qualify for the semi-finals.

The other participants are Karachi Dolphins, Karachi Zebras, Lahore Lions, Lahore Eagles, Sialkot Stallions, Islamabad Leopards, Abbotabad Falcons, Rawalpindi Rams, Multan Tigers, Quetta Bears, Faisalabad Wolves, Peshawar, Panthers and Hyderabad Hawks.