Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group C, 6th round, 3rd day

Amit Yadav's three rattles Assam late in day

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 8, 2013

Text size: A | A

Assam 247 and 31 for 4 (Yadav 3-5) trail Goa 406 for 9 dec (Desai 97, Kamat 60) by 128 runs

A strong batting performance from the middle order helped Goa take a substantial lead before late wickets shook up Assam's second innings in Guwahati.

Goa began the third day on 190 for 2, still trailing Assam by 57 runs. The overnight batsmen, Sagun Kamat and Ravikant Shukla, added a further 56 runs to their third-wicket stand, before Kamat was trapped leg before by Abu Nechim for 60. Shukla only lasted eight overs more before he was scuttled on 30 by the same bowler. The wicketkeeper Keenan Vaz (35), Rohit Asnodkar (54) and Shadab Jakati (38), helped Goa declare on a strong 406, giving them a lead of 159 runs. Assam's efforts at a strong start were thwarted by opener Kunal Saikia's run-out in the ninth over. Fellow opener, Sibsankar Roy, also fell on the same score, as four batsmen lost their wicket in the space of just seven runs, leaving the side at a precarious 31 for 4 at the end of the day. Offspinner Amit Yadav was the chief wrecker for Goa, taking 3 for 5, as Assam finished the day 128 runs behind Goa to set up an intriguing final day at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati.

Hyderabad 258 for 1 (Reddy 138*, Ravi Teja 90*) trail Tripura 650 for 8 dec (Takawale 212, Murasingh 150, Abbas 132*) by 392 runs

The run-fest at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium continued on the third day as Hyderabad posted 258 for 1 after Tripura declared at 650 for 8. Akshath Reddy scored his sixth first-class hundred and was unbeaten 138 along with Dwaraka Ravi Teja, who was on 90.

Tripura resumed the day on 588 for 6 and lost two wickets from the tail - Rana Dutta and Tushar Saha - before declaring. Abbas Ali remained unbeaten on 132. The Tripura bowlers got only one breakthrough, when Sanjay Majumder took a return catch to dismissed T Suman for 21 with the Hyderabad score at 30. Reddy and Ravi Teja then put on 228 runs, although they still trail Tripura by 392 runs.

Jammu & Kashmir 85 (Fallah 4-32) and 333 for 6 (Haroon 94, Bandeep 79) lead Maharashtra 401 for 9 dec (Khadiwale 87, Motwani 84, Mudhasir 5-87) by 17 runs

The Jammu & Kashmir batsmen made steady progress on the third day against Maharashtra in Pune but still face a tough task as they lead by only 17 runs with four wickets in hand.

Continuing from 131 for 1, Obaid Haroon, who was on 54 overnight, scored 40 more and his partner Bandeep Singh marched from 42 to 79. Their partnership of 156 was broken when legspinner Bharatkumar Solanki had Haroon caught behind for 94 and also accounted for Bandeep's wicket. J&K had added only 41 more and lost two more wickets in quick succession - Manzoor Dar for 15 and Hardeep Singh for 6 - to slip from 203 for 1 to 289 for 5. No. 4 Ian Dev Singh, who scored 98 in the last game, had resisted all with 46, which featured seven fours and a six, but he also fell soon to become Samad Fallah's second wicket.

Samiullah Beigh and Ram Dayal played patiently to score 33 runs until stumps as Beigh was unbeaten on 10 off 114 and Dayal on 27 off 67. Fallah, Solanki and Shrikant Mundhe picked two wickets each.

Kerala 214 (Manoharan 71, Bhatia 5-63) and 155 (Baby 43, Bipul 4-32) beat Himachal Pradesh 174 (Bipul 53, Padmanabhan 7-54) and 134 (Manoharan 5-43) by 61 runs

Rishi Dhawan lasted just four balls in the morning and with his dismissal, any hopes Himachal Pradesh had for getting a positive result came to an end. Kerala's spin twins, Vinoop Manoharan and Padmanabhan Prasanth, wrapped up the tail to help Kerala secure an important victory and stay in contention to qualify for the knockouts. Read the full report here.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Players/Officials: Akshath Reddy
Series/Tournaments: Ranji Trophy | Indian Domestic Season
Teams: India
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days