India in South Africa 2013-14 December 9, 2013

South Africa name unchanged Test squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

With a Test squad that has a 12-point lead at the top of the ICC rankings, South Africa's selectors are choosing to stick with a good thing. They named an unchanged 15-member squad for the two Tests against India from the one that played against Pakistan in the UAE.

South Africa have won nine and lost only one of their last 13 matches in the 18 month period convener of selectors Andrew Hudson told ESPNcricinfo that was under consideration when deliberating the current squad. "If you look at that context and over that period, the team has been settled and has done exceptionally well. It's not really a time to start changing anything," he said.

Graeme Smith, who was part of the one-day squad, but didn't play in any of the two ODIs, will return to lead the side in the Tests.

South Africa lost the first Test against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi by seven wickets, but bounced back in Dubai with an innings and 92-run win. "We were very happy with the performance of the Proteas in the second Test match at Dubai," Andrew Hudson, the selection convenor, said. "We see no need to change something that is operating well."

There are four fast bowlers in the squad in Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander and Rory Kleinveldt, and two spinners in Robin Peterson and Imran Tahir. The squad includes Thami Tsolekile as the reserve wicketkeeper.

The two-Test series kicks off on December 18 at the Wanderers while the second match will be played in Durban, from December 26.  

South Africa Test squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile (wk)

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Munawar on December 16, 2013, 18:10 GMT

    Given the lively tracks and the deadly pace and bounce of South African pacers in their very own backyard, Wasim Jaffers skills, temperament, experience and form at top of the order were a must. Jaffer should have been the first opener in the Test at Johannesburg. He is still easily the best Test opener in India today. Hope selectors are listening.Steyn,Philander and Morkel will eat Murali Vijay in the first session itself. Johannesburg is the fastest track there and not sure if even Kohli has the technique to survive the trio of Steyn,Philander and Morkel on that track.At the moment only Pujara and Rohit seem to have the technique and temperament to cope with them. Sincerely believe that Ashwin will be a big flop in the Tests in SA. Likes of Amla, Devilliers and Kallis will dominate Ashwin's average off spin skills as there won't be the supporting dusty tracks of home to help him out in SA. Bhajji should have been there in SA for Tests but could Bhajji be there with Dhoni at the helms

  • Dummy4 on December 14, 2013, 12:37 GMT

    Hi I agree with Hianza totally. Why not play a person who's in form and future for South African Cricket get him in while he's playing good. Quinton De Kock scored 3 hundreds in-a-row lets be serious here who does that yeah not many only 4 other players in the history of the sport. He showed he can attack but more importantly he can also defend while batting for long periods of time. All I can say is give him a chance he's earned it and would help A.B focus on his batting and not suffer wicket keeping he's a very good batsmen which would improve the batting line up.

  • greig on December 12, 2013, 23:05 GMT

    Test Team:

    1.Smith 2.Petersen (last chance) 3.Amla 4.Kallis 5. AB 6.JP 7.Dean Elgar 8.Vernon 9.Steyn 10.Morkel 11.Tahir (Kleinveld unfortunately if they choose all pace)

  • Saransh on December 12, 2013, 17:55 GMT

    I am so sorry. I have made a big blunder there. How could have I forgotten KALLIS. Oh no, that's a selection dilemma now.

    Maybe, I'd play him instead of Peterson as an all pace attack seems likely in JoBurg especially against the Indians. Duminy can do enough in the spin department if needed. Anyway India will cross 150 barely in both innings.

    (Gosh, how did I forget KALLIS!)...

  • Cameron on December 12, 2013, 17:49 GMT

    KARNAWAT33- What has Kallis done to be dropped from your XI? Best allrounder ever and he can't crack the nod ahead of JP or Rory? Glad you wernt selecting when I was an established member of my school U13B team.

  • Ashok on December 12, 2013, 15:24 GMT

    @tanstell87: The lack of ability to take 20 wkts, in the past has largely been supplemented by inclusion of Shami, ZAK & B.Kumar in the squad. Ashwin has taken 100 wkts. in 18 tests - fastest in last 25 years. Jadeja is a steady bowler too. However as you say, I have little faith in Dhoni's leadership in the Tests. He has a poor record of 0-8, overseas. For a short format he gets by with his mistakes. But in long format they show up as blunders! His XI selection is often irrational. ZAK & Pujara should both have played in ODI's to get some practice to the SA pitches + add to Indian performance. These are the 2 stars on which Indian performance is rests. No wonder India performed so poorly in ODI's. So MSD's XI selection is first hurdle for India.The performance of Vijay, Pujara & ZAK due to absence of match practice is the second issue. Thirdly the Bowlers bowling right length. Lastly disciplined Indian batting. If all these click, India can be competitive.So Pl. don't write them off!

  • Saransh on December 12, 2013, 12:58 GMT

    Alright, so its a very confident and sensible decision taken by the SA selectors FINALLY (After they RESTED Steyn n Morkel ONE WHOLE WEEK prior to the Tests).

    I expect SA to play an all pace attack against India @ JoBurg. I believe this will be the Starting XI:

    Alviro, Smith, Amla, ABDV, Duminy, Faf, Peterson, Philander, Steyn, Morkel and Rory.

    The only position which can be of a little doubt is Peterson's, one could play Dean Elgar in his place to strengthen the batting line up, but then you need at least one spinner in the side, and Peterson can bat!

  • Gavin on December 12, 2013, 12:21 GMT

    @baujiraj Yes the ODI are done and dusted. now that Sa have won in their weakest format, they can move on to the format where they are stronger, the tests. If you think that the tests are going to be easier for India then you are sadly in for a huge shock. Its back to the wanderers where India will be relying on a 35 year old swing bowler to terrify the SA batsmen while India have to worry about Steyn, Morkel, Philander and Kallis on a seaming pitch. If India couldn't score 300 in the ODI on flat wicket, then I cant see this first game lasting more than 3 days when its actually moving around a lot.

  • ashish on December 12, 2013, 7:46 GMT

    well. ODIs are done and dusted. Tests are diff ball game altogether, let SA be over-confident and complacent, Ind will surely defeat SA in tests 2-0.

  • SWAPNIL on December 12, 2013, 4:12 GMT

    now india bad time is will win odi series beating no 1 side in world and ind will win test series beating no 1 test side in the world count on that thats a promise just wait and watch.

  • No featured comments at the moment.