Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2005-06 March 10, 2006

Fernando dropped for Pakistan series

Dilhara Fernando has been rested, to help him rectify a no-ball problem © AFP
Dilhara Fernando has been dropped and Russel Arnold recalled, as Sri Lanka unveiled their squad of 15 players to meet Pakistan in three one-day internationals starting in Colombo next week.

Fernando has recently been plagued by a series of no-balls and he has been omitted from the squad to help him rectify his mistake. Arnold, meanwhile, is one of four players recalled for the series after being rested from the on-going Tests against Bangladesh.

Arnold's exclusion from the Bangladesh tour caused a public outcry at home after he had headed the VB Series batting for Sri Lanka, with an average of 53. Marvan Atapattu returns to lead the team taking over from stand-in skipper Mahela Jayawardene who, in Atapattu's absence, led Sri Lanka to victories in the one-day and Test series in Bangladesh.

Jayawardene regains the vice-captaincy once again after losing it to Chaminda Vaas for the tours to India, New Zealand and Australia.

Also recalled after being rested are the seasoned cricketers Sanath Jayasuriya and Vaas. Kaushal Lokuarachchi, who marked his return to international cricket with a maiden one-day half century against Bangladesh, has been retained in the squad but there is no place for the young fast bowler, Dammika Prasad, who made a memorable one-day debut against Bangladesh capturing two wickets in his first spell.

Squad Marvan Atapattu (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Tillekeratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Chamara Kapugedera, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Malinga Bandara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ruchira Perera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Kaushal Lokuarachchi.