Sri Lanka news December 13, 2015

Candidate list for SLC elections trimmed down

Fourteen objections were raised against the candidates for the Sri Lanka Cricket elections and those against K Mathivanan and Asanga Seneviratne running for vice-president were upheld on the grounds that they had not served on the executive committee for a minimum period of two years. Easman Narangoda's nomination for treasurer was rejected for the same reason.

According to the SLC constitution, only those who had represented Sri Lanka in Test and ODI cricket are waived of this requirement. So Arjuna Ranatunga's candidacy for vice-president is safe. The former World-Cup winner is bidding for one of two posts along with his brother Nishantha Ranatunga and Shammi Silva, who is also now the sole contestant for the treasurer's post. The elections take place on January 3.

The two frontrunners for the post of Sri Lanka Cricket president - Nishantha and Thilanga Sumathipala - were given the green light to contest after objections were filed against them by rival candidates.

Director-General of Sports Ruwanpathirana said that the objections raised against Sumathipala, Nishantha and a third candidate Jayantha Dharmadasa were overruled by a committee headed by him after a careful study.

Sri Lanka Cricket is holding elections after a period of seven months during which time their affairs were looked after by a nine-man interim committee headed by former Sri Lanka Test cricketer Sidath Wettimuny.