Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, 2012-13, 3rd round March 19, 2013

Balaji helps TN tie with Karnataka

ESPNcricinfo staff

South Zone

A last-ball four by L Balaji took Tamil Nadu to a tie against Karnataka. However, no Super Over was played because the match finished 33 minutes after the scheduled close of play. The captains were told that the BCCI's playing conditions state that the Super Over has to be played within 30 minutes after the scheduled close. The sides got two points each and are joint leaders in South Zone.

Put in, Karnataka were reeling at 79 for 5 in the 14th over, but Karun Nair's 51 off 38 balls took them to 150. He got support from wicketkeeper CM Gautam who scored 27 off 15. Abhinav Mukund led Tamil Nadu's response with a 40-ball 42 but they kept losing wickets regularly, three of them to Abhimanyu Mithun.

When Balaji came in to bat, Tamin Nadu needed seven to win off three balls. He took a single off SL Akshay, followed by a single for V Shankar. Balaji got four off the last ball to level the scores, but the match had already gone into overtime.

A 78-run stand between VA Jagadeesh (52*) and Rohan Prem (49) steered Kerala to a comfortable seven-wicket win against Andhra in Shimoga. Chasing 135, Kerala reached the target in the 19th over after opener Nikhilesh Surendran also chipped in with a 17-ball 27. After Kerala chose to field, B Sumanth scored an unbeaten 60 off 45. Naren Reddy made a 17-ball 24 but Andhra lost wickets regularly and their total of 134 for 7 proved insufficient.

Goa defended 141 against Hyderabad after losing their openers for ducks. Reduced to 7 for 2 after being put in to bat, Goa's Swapnil Asnodkar (36) and Ravikant Shukla (30) put on 64 for the third wicket to take them to a respectable position. Reagan Pinto then scored 33 off 24.

Hyderabad were led by their opener Ravi Teja (33) but his wicket in the 11th over was followed by two more in the next over, leaving them 68 for 5. Hyderabad were eventually restricted to 134 for 9. While Darshan Misal picked three wickets for 29, Saurabh Bandekar and Robin D'Souza took two each.

Central Zone

Aggressive knocks from Rameez Khan and Naman Ojha helped Madhya Pradesh to a three-wicket victory over Uttar Pradesh in Nagpur. Although they kept losing wickets in their chase of 137, the innings was held together at the death by Harpreet Singh, who scored a run-a-ball 17 and saw his side home with 8 balls to spare. UP's innings revolved around a 31-ball 44 from opener Prashant Gupta. But the innings stalled in the middle, which proved costly in the end.

Railways' top-order batsmen ensured a five-wicket win against Vidarbha in Nagpur. Chasing 144, Railways lost Murali Kartik in the third over but Amit Paunikar (38) and Prashant Awasthi (28) added 52 runs together. Once they both were dismissed, Mahesh Rawat scored an unbeaten 39 from 27 balls to finish the chase with seven balls to spare. After Vidarbha chose to bat, they were led by Akshay Kolhar (34) and Ravi Jangid (42).

East Zone

An all-round effort from Assam took them to a crushing eight-wicket victory over Tripura in Agartala. Seamer Pritam Das and spinner Gokul Sharma took two wickets each as Tripura lost six wickets for 39 runs to limp to 121 for 9. In reply, a half-century from Pallavkumar Das and a knock of 34 from Pritam Debnath steered Assam to their target in 15.5 overs.

Bengal defeated Jharkhand by 37 runs in a one-sided contest, also in Agartala. After being put in to bat, a 48-run stand between Shreevats Goswami and Anustup Majumdar took Bengal to a commanding position, and was backed up by a 45-run stand for the fifth wicket to help them set their opponents a target of 150.

Jharkhand crumbled in their chase. They were reduced to 25 for 4 before Saurabh Tiwary, Kumar Deobrat and Shahbaz Nadeem repaired the innings. Eventually, they limped to 112 for 9, with seamer Shami Ahmed and spinner Iresh Saxena taking three wickets each.

North Zone

A three-wicket haul from Siddarth Kaul, and three run-outs, crippled Jammu and Kashmir's chase of 147, to take Punjab to a 43-run win in Gurgaon.

Punjab, batting first, kept losing wickets, but decent contributions from Gurkeerat Singh (27), Ravi Inder Singh (23), MS Gony (23) and Amitoze Singh (21) helped them to 146. Seamer Ram Dayal and spinner Raman Dutta took three wickets each. J&K similarly lost wickets in their chase and besides Fayaz Ahmed (34), Ahmed Bandy (26) and Dayal (21), no other player scored more than six runs. They were bowled out for 103 in the final over.

Varun Sood's three-wicket haul led Delhi to a four-wicket win against Himachal Pradesh in Rohtak. After HP decided to bat, Sood claimed 3 for 22, restricting HP to 109 for 7 which included a 33-ball 38 from Rishi Dhawan. Delhi were also jolted early by Vikramjeet Malik and even though he struck thrice, Delhi had enough contributions to reach home with ten balls to spare.

Services cruised to an eight-wicket win over Haryana in a low-scoring match in Rohtak. Once Haryana were put in to bat, Shadab Nazar and Ritesh Negi (2 for 14) choked them with parsimonious spells, giving 27 runs in their eight overs. Then Narender Kumar took three wickets and, with two run-outs, Haryana were reduced to 49 for 7. Jayant Yadav's unbeaten 30 off 21 took them to 102 for 9.

Services were given a strong start by openers Anshul Gupta and Sumit Singh when they put on 47. Gupta took them home with Yashpal Singh in the 19th over.

West Zone

Mumbai crashed out of the tournament with their third successive defeat as Saurashtra thumped them by 60 runs in Ahmedabad. Saurashtra made 152 for 7 after choosing to bat, Kuldeep Raval's unbeaten 53 off 26 helping them finish big after an underwhelming start had them struggling at 67 for 4 in 12 overs. In reply, Mumbai were dismissed for 92 in the 19th over. The highest any Mumbai batsman managed was Siddharth Chitnis' 15. Saurashtra seamer Siddharth Trivedi did the damage upfront with a spell of 3-0-7-3, while Chirag Jani and Raval took two wickets each.

Led by a knock of 82 from captain Parthiv Patel, Gujarat beat Baroda by eight runs in a high-scoring match in Ahmedabad. Parthiv opened and scored 82 off 54, including seven fours and five sixes which stitched a 111-run partnership with Niraj Patel for the third wicket. Bhargav Bhatt took three wickets in an over but Gujarat went on to score 170 for 6.

Baroda's Ambati Rayudu and Kedar Devdhar put them on track but both were dismissed by the tenth over and Yusuf Pathan scored only 1, leaving them 74 for 4. Irfan Pathan went on to score 32 off 28 but Mehul Patel struck regularly to finish with 4 for 39 and Baroda fell short by eight runs.