ICC Under-19 World Cup 2010 December 6, 2009

India name squad for U-19 World Cup

Cricinfo staff

The BCCI's junior selection committee announced the Under-19 squad to tour New Zealand for the World Cup, from January 15-30, 2010. Rajasthan's Ashok Menaria, who led the side to Australia this year, will captain the 15-man squad.

Notable names in the squad are those of Saurabh Netrawalkar and Sufiyan Shaikh, who were impressive during the BCCI Corporate Trophy.

India, defending champions, kick off the tournament with a match against Afghanistan on January 15 in Lincoln. They will then play Hong Kong two days later in Christchurch, followed by their final game of the group stage against England on January 21. The top two teams in each group will progress to the quarter-finals.

The squad will head to South Africa for a short series before the World Cup.

India Under-19 squad: Ashok Menaria (capt), Mandeep Singh, Mayhank Agarwal, Akshath Reddy, Harpreet Singh, KL Rahul, Sufiyan Shaikh, Zahid Ali, Harshal Patel, Jaydev Unadkad, Sandeep Sharma, Saurabh Netravalkar, Harmeet Singh, Manan Sharma, Gaurav Jathar.