Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015-16, Group C December 18, 2015

Chand ton fires Delhi into quarter-finals

ESPNcricinfo staff

File photo: Unmukt Chand blasted 14 fours and four sixes during his 118 not out © PTI

A century from Unmukt Chand helped book Delhi's place in the Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-finals, as the team beat Andhra by nine wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla to secure a top-two spot in Group C. Set 184 for victory, Chand stroked 118 off 99 balls, with 14 fours and four sixes to ace the chase in 30 overs. Chand first added 114 for the opening wicket with Gautam Gambhir, before combining with Himmat Singh for a second-wicket association which yielded 70 runs.

Earlier, Andhra, having been inserted, were bundled out for 183, with none of their batsmen failing to make good on their starts. Pawan Negi was the pick of the bowlers, collecting 3 for 29, while six other bowlers claimed a scalp each.

Vidarbha sealed top spot in Group C, after a four-wicket haul from Akshay Karnewar and an unbeaten fifty from Ganesh Satish guided the team to a four-wicket win against Maharashtra. After being sent in, Maharashtra lost wickets right from the off and soon found themselves struggling at 76 for 6, as Karnewar (4 for 43) and Umesh Yadav (3 for 24) dealt regular blows. Only a 63-run partnership between Ankit Bawne and Shamshuzama Kazi took Maharashtra to 184.

Vidarbha's chase was marshaled by Satish's 71 not out, which included seven fours. Satish also received ample support from the opener Jitesh Sharma, with who he added 60 runs. Kazi was Maharashtra's most incisive bowler, snaring 3 for 45, but did not have enough runs on the board to defend with, as Vidarbha ran the chase down with three overs to spare.

Chiranjit Paul and Rajesh Banik claimed three wickets each to help Tripura defend 206 against Odisha in Delhi. The result, though, was inconsequential to both teams, who occupied the bottom two positions in Group C. Tripura, opting to bat, rode on a 90-run partnership between Samrat Singha (56) and Parvinder Singh (65), who both hit half-centuries. Odisha chipped away with quick wickets, but another crucial stand - 55 for the seventh wicket between Swapan Das and Sanjay Majumder - lifted the team to 206.

Odisha failed to gather any momentum in their chase, as wickets at regular intervals prevented them from forging a threatening partnership. As many as six batsmen made double-digit scores, but none of them could cross 29, as Paul (3 for 34) and Banik (3 for 35) bowled Odisha out for 169 inside 45 overs.