ICC World Cricket League Division 6, Singapore, 3rd round September 1, 2009

Mendis secures another Singapore win

Cricinfo staff

Buddhika Mendis stroked an unbeaten century to steer Singapore to their third win in a row in the ICC World Cricket League Division 6, when they beat Bahrain by seven wickets on a rain-affected day on Tuesday.

Play began at all the three venues but heavy rain set in around midday and only Singapore and Bahrain were able to finish their fixture at the Padang ground, while matches at the Kalang and the Indian Association ground were washed out.

Batting first, Bahrain were 122 for 4 after 34 overs when the rain came down hard to stop any further play until 4pm. And when the match resumed, Singapore were set a revised target of 164 in 34 overs under the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Singapore successfully knocked off the runs in 30.4 overs, losing only three wickets, and Mendis starred with an unbeaten 103. His innings was all the more impressive considering he had to bat with a runner for the major part of his innings after he had suffered an injury to his right leg.

"I'm extremely happy with today's result. We didn't start well with our batting but then Mendis came in and played extremely well," said Trevor Chappell, the Singapore coach. "He was helped earlier in the innings by Anish Param and later by Monish Arora. Arora and Mendis took us through to the end and I'm pleased with the team. We're just going to have to wait and see how Mendis' injury goes tonight, ahead of tomorrow's match against Norway."

At the two abandoned matches, Guernsey were 184 for 2 in 35.2 overs against Norway before downpour prevented any further play at the Indian Association ground while Botswana reached 144 for 4 against Malaysia at the Kalang when play was called off.

Tuesday's abandoned matches will now be played on Thursday, the next designated reserve day. Guernsey will face Norway at the Indian Association ground and Botswana will play Malaysia at the Kalang.

Wednesday's fixtures will remain as scheduled. Norway will play Singapore at the Kalang, Bahrain will play Botswana at the Singapore Cricket Club and Guernsey will take on Malaysia at the Indian Association ground.