West Indies news July 21, 2014

Combined Campuses and Colleges excluded from WI first-class

ESPNcricinfo staff

Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC), one of the seven teams in the West Indies domestic circuit, have been excluded from the regional four-day competition from the upcoming season, the West Indies Cricket Board announced. The team will continue to be a part of the Nagico Super50 List-A competition.

"The Board approved a recommendation for the WICB First Class Competition to consist of the six premier regional teams - Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Trinidad & Tobago and Windward Islands," the WICB release said.

"The Board approved a recommendation for six teams along with the Combined Campuses and Colleges along with other invitational teams to participate in the 2015 edition of the Nagico Super50."

The reduction of teams in the first-class competition was one of the recommendations made in a report presented by Richard Pybus, WICB's director of cricket, in March 2014. The report was based on a comprehensive region-wise study conducted by Pybus between November 2013 and January 2014. He had suggested downsizing the first-class competition to make it more competitive.

CCC were first included for domestic competitions in 2007-08 and made it to the final of the first-class competition in 2011 - their best show. Jason Holder and Chadwick Walton, who have played internationals have represented the team.