1st Twenty20 International

Australia v Sri Lanka, 2012-13

Geoffrey Dean

At Sydney (Stadium Australia), January 26, 2013 (floodlit). Sri Lanka won by five wickets. Toss: Australia. Twenty20 international debuts: B. C. J. Cutting; M. D. K. J. Perera.

Fine bowling and fielding at the top and tail of Australia's innings presented Sri Lanka with a modest chase, and eventually a comfortable victory on a slow surface at Sydney's Olympic Stadium. The Australian batting was carried almost entirely by Warner, who made a fine 90 but lacked support, with the recalled Marsh particularly tardy in the early overs. Sri Lanka's successful pursuit contained a series of cameos, while Australia's fielding and late-innings bowling failed to match their opponents'.

Man of the Match: D.A. Warner.

© John Wisden & Co.