South Africa Women in West Indies 2012-13 December 21, 2012

Aguilleira to lead West Indies against South Africa

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Indies Women have included June Ogle-Thomas, a 26-year old batsman from Guyana, in their squad of 13 for the first three one-dayers, when South Africa Women arrive in the Caribbean to play five ODIs and two Twenty20s in January next year. West Indies will be led by Merissa Aguilleira, under whom they reached the semi-finals of the Women's World Twenty20.

The squad includes vice-captain Stefanie Taylor, who was adjudged the ODI Player of the Year at the ICC Awards in September. In the World Twenty20, Taylor scored 74 runs in four matches and was the joint third highest wicket-taker in the competition, with six wickets. Deandra Dottin, the only player to have scored a century in a women's Twenty20 international, will also bolster the batting. Experienced offspinner Anisa Mohammed will lead the bowling line-up.

Batsman Britney Cooper and allrounder Stacy Ann-King, who were part of the Women's World Twenty20 squad, have been excluded.

West Indies last played an ODI in April 2012, when Sri Lanka had visited the Caribbean to play three matches. They won the series 2-1, thanks to productive contributions from batsman Shanel Daley, who scored 150 runs in the series, and Mohammed, who took seven wickets.

"We have a good team and we are really focused on the upcoming series against South Africa. We have done very well against them in recent years and as a team we strongly believe we can beat them in this series as well," Aguilleira said. "We always enjoy playing at home and we are especially comfortable in St Kitts, where we will start the series. Warner Park has been a good hunting ground for us, so that's the perfect place to get going. We look forward to a good series as we prepare for the World Cup in India."

The series, to be played in St Kitts, Dominica and St Lucia, will serve as preparation for the World Cup in India in January and February.

Squad: Merissa Aguilleira (capt), Stefanie Taylor (vc), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, Juliana Nero, June Ogle-Thomas, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt, Shaquana Quintyne.