ICC World Twenty20, 2010 February 26, 2010

Shoaib and Tanvir not in World Twenty20 squad

Cricinfo staff

Except for the omission of fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, there were no major surprises in Pakistan's preliminary 30-man squad for the defence of their World Twenty20 title in the Caribbean in two months' time. Injured fast bowler Sohail Tanvir, who has not played any cricket since November, was also overlooked.

Ijaz Butt, the PCB chairman, said Shoaib had been overlooked because he had hardly played any cricket in the past ten months. Though Shoaib has only taken part in a couple of List A matches since the series against Australia in UAE last May, he had said last week that he was still confident of making an international comeback. He will lead Islamabad Leopards in the upcoming RBS Twenty20 Cup.

Butt said Tanvir would undergo knee surgery in Australia. "The doctors are not sure when he will regain the fitness," he told AP.

Another fast bowler who was missing from the probables was Mohammad Talha, who had been part of the squad for the two Twenty20s against England last weekend.

The PCB also announced a list of 30 probables for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 which will run parallel to the men's tournament in the West Indies.

Men's squad: Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Hafeez, Salman Butt, Shahzaib Hassan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Naveed Yasin, Hasan Raza, Kamran Younis, Misbah-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arafat, Hammad Azam, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Umar Gul, Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Asif, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Sami, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Abdul Rehman, Kamran Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Zulqarnain Haider.

Women's squad: Sana Mir, Bismah Maroof, Nain Abidi, Sajjida Shah, Javeria Khan, Almas Akram, Nida Dar, Zeba Manzoor, Kainat Imtiaz, Faryal Awan, Armaan Khan, Sumaiya Siddiqi, Urooj Mumtaz, Nazia Sadiq, Sabeen Abdul Samad, Masooma Junaid, Qanita Jalil, Sadia Yousuf, Sania Khan, Marina Iqbal, Sana Gulzar, Ayesha Qazi, Sukhan Faiz, Rabia Batool, Saima Jamil, Batool Fatima, Asmavia Iqbal, Rabia Shah, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • mani on February 28, 2010, 20:46 GMT

    The Pakistan T20 batting line-up should be like this 1- Imran Nazir 2- Kamran Akmal 3- Hasan Raza 4- Umar Akmal 5- Shahid Afridi 6- Abdul Razzaq 7- Fawad Alam 8- Hammad Azam 9- Babar Azam 10- Mohammad Aamir 11- Mohammad Asif... The bowling should be opened by Mohammad Aamir then second Mohammad Asif... Babar Azam is a good spinner and hammad azam a good allrounder these new young guys should get a chance... They should try something different this time, Umar gul and imran farhat they are totally out of their form...

  • Dummy4 on February 28, 2010, 20:09 GMT

    I don't understand Why PCB Selected Imran Farhat. He is only Eligible for Test Cricket. Why they not selected Sohail Tanvir he is a good allrouder. PCB is just ignoring the good players. Shoaib akhtar is not selected. he is a good bowler and PCB should have give him the chance. With that selection they will not win. Pakistan PCB is not Serious. This squard will help pakistan in winning the T20. 1. imran nazir, 2. Kamran Akmal 3. Shahid Afridi (c) 4.Umar Akmal 5.Shoaib Malik 6.Abdur Razzaq 7.Misbah-ul-Haq 8.Sohail Tanvir 9.Shoaib Akhtar 10.Muhammad Aamir 11. Umar Gul 12.Saeed Ajmal 13.Muhammad Asif. 14.hammad Azam 15.Fawad Alam.

    PCB please save your cricket and Proud pakistan. Be like Australians.

  • Dummy4 on February 28, 2010, 18:03 GMT

    The best possible playing 11!!!! bating order may changed.

    1)Imran Nazir 2) Muhammad hafeez 3)Kamran Akmal 4) Umer Akmal 5) Shoaib Malik 6) Shahid Afridi 7) Abdul Razzaq 8) Muhammad Amir 9)Umer Gul 10)Saeed Ajmal 11)Muhammad Asif

    Misbah may included depending if hafeez is not there.

  • Hussan on February 28, 2010, 17:19 GMT

    One thing I fail to understand. Why on earth is Yasir Hameed not included? He is always over looked. I fail to see why.

    He has an ODI average of 36.87 and a test average of 34.52. He has hit many 50's and a few centuries, and has a decent strike rate.

    And I thank god that faisal iqbal has finally been dropped, why is he always included in the side, (thankfully not this one), when he has such a poor average!

  • Zahid on February 28, 2010, 13:00 GMT

    I would like to question the selection of following players and this is a direct question to PCB as I don't have any other source to get to PCB. Pls forward this comment so that they can LEARN. 1. Fawad Alam: My question is do u seriously think he's an attacking player ? If yes you are out of your mind. 2. Yasir Aarafat: The guy is a skitty bowler. His bowl comes on to the bat very nicely and is vanished over the boundaries without any trouble. Come on man he doesn't belong to any form of cricket. 3. Sarfaraz Ahmad: He's not eligible not when u've got a hitter like Kamran Akmal in ur side(Just leave his attitude for a while). 4. What is Imran Farhat doing here ? first of all he should know that he can't play with heavy bat, he's not AFRIDI. Why don't u admit it. Give him a light weight bat and then see the results. Secondly the guy's not a fielder at all. We need sharp men in the field. 5. Salman Butt: He's a one day and test player not T20. You need smashers to open not DRIVERS.

  • Mohd on February 28, 2010, 11:54 GMT

    I Think this is best playing 11 for world cup.... 1. Imran Nazir 2. Mohd Hafeez 3. Kamran Akmal 4. Shoaib Malik 5. Umer Akmal 6. Shahid Afridi 7. Misbah ul Haq 8. Abdul Razzaq 9. Mohd Aamir 10. Umer Gul 11. Mohd Asif see 8 good batsman and 6,7 full bowlers.

  • Afroz on February 28, 2010, 11:54 GMT

    BY MIR AFROZ DADA SRINAGAR If pakistan wanna to win T20 world cup then pak 11 player squad should be * IMRAN NAZIR, MOHD. HAFEEZ, SHOAIB MALIK, UMAR AKMAL, SHAHID KHAN AFRIDI, KAMRAN AKMAL, ABDUL RAZZAQ, MISBUL-HAQ, MUHAMMAD AAMIR, SHOAIB AKHTAR, SAEED AJMAL & 12th MUHAMMAD HAFEEZ, 13th MUHAMMAD ASIF, 14th FAWAD ALAM * I guarentee if pak play with full sincerety & pride they will sure 100% will win T20 world cup for sure INSHALLAH.WE HAVE SEEN LOT FROM UMER GUL HE IS NO MORE IN HIS BOWLING DEPTH.SHOAIB CAN BE REAL ASET.

  • Hadi on February 28, 2010, 9:46 GMT

    We all have diff opinions and this will be tricky, carribean pitches will support spinners so must recall mohammad hafeez and give Raza Hasan a chance, play Misbah as a t20 specialist as he has been in good domestic form and if Afridi dont bite the ball again he will captain due to retiremence of Younis Full 15 man squad (alphabetticaly) Shahid Afridi (C) Abdul Razzaq Hammad Azam Imran Nazir Kamran Akmal (WK) Misbah-ul-Haq Mohammad Aamer Mohammad Asif Mohammad Hafeez Rana Naved Raza Hasan Saeed Ajmal Shoaib Malik Umar Akmal Umar Gul If Kamran injured/dropped/rested, Hammad Azam will keep wicket. Pakistan will defend world t20 title if they play with 110% spirit and pride INSHALLAH

  • Dummy4 on February 28, 2010, 6:45 GMT

    I wana look forward for Mohammad Hafiz back in pakisan T20 squad. with imran naizir back in side hafiz is the first choice to play as a opener for pakistan in t20 world cup. beside opening the inning hafiz will proivde the sixth bowler option being a reliable off spiner.

  • Faisal Jamal on February 28, 2010, 5:36 GMT

    That old fart Ijaz Butt should be relieved of his duties immediately. How can you constantly ignore the best bowler in Pakistan and the King of Speed Shoaib Akhtar? Umar Gul is not the Umar Gul of last year and besides Aamer and Asif there is no other Strike bowler in the team. Shoaib can run havoc on those Carribean pitches with his experience and speed. This ommission is totally unfair to ShoaibAkhtar, his fans and lovers of Cricket.

  • No featured comments at the moment.