Zimbabwe news April 29, 2011

Chingoka re-elected Zimbabwe board chairman

ESPNcricinfo staff

A new Zimbabwe Cricket board has been elected following a special general meeting held in Harare on Friday. The elections were held in accordance with the ZC constitution.

The following were elected to the board by way of ballot: Peter Chingoka, LV Bhila, E Chagadama, E Kandi, F Kapuya, M Kuchocha, WT Manase, A Maposa, B Matemayi, S Matshaka, CG Maunze, J Mbanda and M Mudukuti.

The new board then unanimously re-elected Peter Chingoka as chairman of the board and Wilson T Manase as deputy chairman. Chingoka has been president of Zimbabwe Cricket since 1992, shortly after Zimbabwe got Test status. He became a target of a player strike in 2005, when certain cricketers refused to play till he quit the position.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Andrew on April 30, 2011, 2:28 GMT

    Zimbabwe should have got rid of him if thay are to move foward. how can you have a chairman that is not alowed in euroupe, australia and most of the world

  • Rob on April 30, 2011, 1:56 GMT

    Same old, same old - quelle surprise

  • Ahmed on April 30, 2011, 0:54 GMT

    Oh no, here we go again. Zimbabwe cricket was looking so promising, now its just going to get stagnant.

  • No featured comments at the moment.