Deepak Chahar and Ishan Kishan have been added to the India A squad that will travel to South Africa for three four-day matches.

Chahar and Kishan are in Kolkata for the third T20I against New Zealand and will leave with the squad on November 23.

"Yes, Deepak and Ishan have been drafted to the squad. They will finish the match in Kolkata and link up with the A team before they leave for South Africa," a senior BCCI official confirmed the development to PTI.

It is understood that Kishan is being sent because the Chetan Sharma-led committee had initially kept only one wicketkeeper for the 'A' tour in Railways' Upendra Yadav.

"They needed a second keeper and who is better than Ishan. He probably now would be first keeper and rightly so," another official said.

Chahar has not played a lot of red-ball cricket but with his ability to swing the ball, selectors want to keep him busy.

Gujarat top-order batter Priyank Panchal will lead the India A squad for the South Africa tour, beginning November 26.

Squad: Priyank Panchal (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, B Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wk), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Ishan Kishan (wk), Deepak Chahar