Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Shakib strikes leave SL in trouble

Sri Lanka 172 for 6 (Vandort 44, Sangakkara 43, Shakib 3-43) against Bangladesh
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details
How they were out

Shakib Al Hasan took three wickets, including the prized ones of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene, to rattle Sri Lanka on the first day in Mirpur. A two-hour start delay due to fog was followed by a period of domination by Sri Lanka, Michael Vandort and Sangakkara taking them to 119 for 1, before Shakib triggered a collapse. Sri Lanka, who opted to bat, lost five wickets for 52 runs to hand Bangladesh the first day's honours.

Bangladesh had the better of a brief first session, dismissing Malinda Warnapura for 14 and slowing down the visitors with consistent bowling from the new-ball bowlers, Mashrafe Mortaza and Mahbubul Alam. They stuck to a probing line on and outside the off stump and their persistence almost paid dividends in the seventh over, when a short ball from Mortaza induced an outside edge from Warnapura. However, Mushfiqur Rahim, Bangladesh's wicketkeeper, not only failed to take the catch but was struck on the face in the process and was forced off the field, Junaid Siddique taking over behind the stumps. Warnapura, though, fell in the next over, trapped plumb in front to an inswinger from Mortaza.

However, Vandort and Sangakkara staged a recovery after lunch with Mortaza and Alam unable to replicate their first-session form. Boundaries started to flow as the batsmen were fed several short-and-wide balls and overpitched deliveries on leg stump.

Sangakkara wasn't in the best of form, though, and had two chances grassed; one on 11 - and inside edge that Mushfiqur couldn't latch on to after returning to keep in the second session - and another on 32, when Junaid was unable to react quickly enough at first slip.

At the other end, Vandort started to open up, moving into the forties by launching Shakib over long-on for six. Just as Sri Lanka were taking control of the game, though, Bangladesh fought back. Sangakkara and Vandort were caught at midwicket in the space of two runs and, three overs later, Shakib bowled Mahela Jayawardene through the gate for 3. They went in to tea at a shaky 139 for 4.

Bad light restricted the final session to under ten overs but that was enough time for Bangladesh to remove the two Sri Lankan batsmen who made runs in the practice game earlier this week. One of them, Tillakaratne Dilshan, carted Shahadat Hossain for consecutive boundaries but soon became Shakib's third victim, bowled after misreading a straighter one. The other, Prasanna Jayawardene, top-edged a pull to fine leg and Sri Lanka slid to 171 for 6.

Thilan Samaraweera is the only specialist batsman remaining but memories of Chaminda Vaas' century against them last year will remind Bangladesh that they can't afford to be complacent on the second day.

  • Jayawardene praises Bangladesh fight

    Mahela Jayawardene, the Sri Lanka captain, said his team were fortunate to have the cushion of a 500-plus lead against Banglades

  • Brave Bangladesh fall 107 short

    Bangladesh fell 107 short of pulling off the most miraculous of chases as Sri Lanka clawed back after lunch to seal a victory

  • 'We need only two wickets' - Dilshan

    Bangladesh, led by their captain Mohammad Ashraful, may have extended the first Test against Sri Lankans to the fifth day in Mirpur, but the visitors are confident of winning

  • Ashraful takes contest into fifth day

    A face-saving partnership of 74 for the sixth wicket between Mohammad Ashraful and Shakib Al Hasan ensured Bangladesh put up a fight chasing an improbable target of 521

  • Jayawardene puts Sri Lanka in dominant position

    A fine hundred by Mahela Jayawardene and half-centuries by Kumar Sangakkara and Thilan Samaraweera effectively shut Bangladesh out of the match as Sri Lanka extended their lead to an imposing 406

Bangladesh 4th innings Partnerships

1st40Tamim IqbalImrul Kayes
2nd32Junaid SiddiqueTamim Iqbal
3rd52Junaid SiddiqueRaqibul Hasan
4th20Mohammad AshrafulRaqibul Hasan
5th36Mohammad AshrafulMehrab Hossain jnr
6th112Mohammad AshrafulShakib Al Hasan
7th111Mushfiqur RahimShakib Al Hasan
8th6Mashrafe MortazaMushfiqur Rahim
9th2Mushfiqur RahimMahbubul Alam
10th2Shahadat HossainMahbubul Alam