1st ODI (D/N), Taupo, Jan 9 1999, India tour of New Zealand
(38/39 ov, target 200)
New Zealand won by 5 wickets (with 6 balls remaining) (D/L method)
Player Of The Match
India Innings (50 overs maximum)
SC Ganguly c Larsen b Vettori60881087068.18
SR Tendulkar c Harris b Cairns0510000.00
R Dravid not out123123201101100.00
M Azharuddin (c) b Larsen922270040.90
A Jadeja c & b Harris1017170058.82
RR Singh run out (Nash)2731402087.09
HH Kanitkar not out17141420121.42
Extras(lb 5, w 6)11
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.14)257/5
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Sachin Tendulkar, 2.1 ov), 2-116 (Sourav Ganguly, 25.3 ov), 3-144 (Mohammad Azharuddin, 32.6 ov), 4-163 (Ajay Jadeja, 37.4 ov), 5-223 (Robin Singh, 46.1 ov)
CL Cairns805316.62---30
SB Doull713404.85---20
DJ Nash804205.25---00
GR Larsen1004614.60---00
CZ Harris1013513.50---00
DL Vettori502615.20---00
CD McMillan201608.00---10
New Zealand Innings (target: 200 runs from 39 overs)
RG Twose c †Mongia b Srinath1012141083.33
MJ Horne lbw b Tendulkar5762945091.93
CD McMillan c Ganguly b Srinath73761148096.05
CL Cairns c Srinath b Singh2331470174.19
AC Parore not out1623421069.56
CZ Harris run out (Azharuddin)1323351056.52
DJ Nash not out11300100.00
Extras(lb 5, w 2)7
TOTAL(38 Ov, RR: 5.26)200/5
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Roger Twose, 2.5 ov), 2-126 (Matt Horne, 20.6 ov), 3-166 (Craig McMillan, 29.4 ov), 4-168 (Chris Cairns, 31.1 ov), 5-194 (Chris Harris, 37.3 ov)
J Srinath803524.37---10
BKV Prasad814105.12---00
N Chopra803704.62---00
RR Singh403619.00---00
SR Tendulkar803414.25---10
HH Kanitkar201206.00---00
Owen Delany Park, Taupo
TossIndia , elected to bat first
SeriesIndia tour of New Zealand
Player Of The Match
Rahul Dravid
Series resultNew Zealand led the 5-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 1378
Match days9 January 1999 - day/night match (50-over match)
Billy Bowden
Doug Cowie
TV Umpire
Tony Hill
Match Referee
Talat Ali
SC Ganguly and R Dravid partnership: 50 off 58 balls, 44 minutes; 100 off 126 balls, 88 minutes
  • R Dravid and RR Singh partnership: 50 off 44 balls, 34 minutes
CD McMillan 50 off 42 balls, 63 minutes, 8x4
  • MJ Horne 50 off 51 balls, 82 minutes
Attendance: 12000
  • First ever One-Day International at Taupo, New Zealand's 8th new venue (after Christchurch, Dunedin, Wellington, Auckland, Hamilton, Napier and New Plymouth). It is the 122nd venue worldwide.
  • A lighting tower blew a fuse at 8:56pm and as a result a circuit breaker had to be replaced, delaying a resumption in play for almost 50 minutes. Drinks were taken upon stoppage of play with New Zealand 168/3 after 30.4 overs. 11 overs were deducted based on a rate of 1 over per 4.2 minutes lost.
  • New Zealand's target revised to 200 runs off 39 overs to win using the Duckworth/Lewis method (32 runs off the remaining 8.2 overs required).
  • India innings: 50 off 70 balls, 55 minutes; 100 off 134 balls, 97 minutes; 150 off 207 balls, 145 minutes; 200 off 260 balls, 184 minutes; 250 off 294 balls, 209 minutes
  • R Dravid 50 off 60 balls, 97 minutes; 100 off 112 balls, 181 minutes, 8x4
  • SP Fleming left the field at 4:54pm with a groin strain, replaced as captain by DJ Nash
  • MJ Horne and CD McMillan partnership: 100 off 99 balls, 73 minutes