22nd Match, Nagpur, Mar 1 1996, Wills World Cup
(36/50 ov, target 155)
Australia won by 8 wickets (with 84 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
Zimbabwe Innings (50 overs maximum)
AC Waller run out6710113710066.33
GW Flower  b McGrath416240025.00
GJ Whittall c & b SR Waugh622241027.27
ADR Campbell c ME Waugh b SR Waugh510181050.00
A Flower (c) †st †Healy b Warne715141046.66
CN Evans c †Healy b Warne1824292175.00
HH Streak c SR Waugh b Fleming1341430031.70
PA Strang not out1629421055.17
BC Strang  b Fleming022000.00
SG Peall c †Healy b Warne045000.00
ACI Lock  b Warne511131045.45
Extras(lb 8, nb 2, w 3)13
TOTAL(45.3 Ov, RR: 3.38)154
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Grant Flower), 2-41 (Guy Whittall), 3-55 (Alistair Campbell), 4-68 (Andy Flower), 5-106 (Craig Evans), 6-126 (Andy Waller), 7-140 (Heath Streak), 8-140 (Bryan Strang), 9-145 (Stephen Peall), 10-154 (Charlie Lock)
GD McGrath821211.50---00
DW Fleming913023.33---01
S Lee42802.00---01
SR Waugh722223.14---00
SK Warne9.313443.57---30
ME Waugh503006.00---00
SG Law301003.33---00
Australia Innings (target: 155 runs from 50 overs)
MA Taylor (c)c BC Strang b PA Strang3450725068.00
ME Waugh not out7610912910069.72
RT Ponting c & b PA Strang3351474064.70
SR Waugh not out5781071.42
Extras(b 6, lb 2, nb 1, w 1)10
TOTAL(36 Ov, RR: 4.38)158/2
Fall of wickets: 1-92 (Mark Taylor), 2-150 (Ricky Ponting)
HH Streak1032902.90---11
ACI Lock402506.25---00
BC Strang302006.66---00
GJ Whittall201105.50---00
PA Strang1023323.30---00
SG Peall402005.00---00
GW Flower301204.00---00
Vidarbha C.A. Ground, Nagpur
TossZimbabwe , elected to bat first
SeriesWills World Cup 1996
Player Of The Match
Shane Warne
Match numberODI no. 1068
Match days1 March 1996 (50-over match)
Steve Dunne
David Shepherd
TV Umpire
TM Samarasinghe
Match Referee
Sir Clive Lloyd
PointsAustralia 2, Zimbabwe 0
AC Waller 3rd ODI 50 (other 2 against Sri Lanka).
  • Zimbabwe 154, lowest ever score by any team at Nagpur.
  • 3 pairs of brothers appearing in this match (Flowers, Strangs and Waughs).
  • Australia's 5th consecutive ODI victory, 5th consecutive World Cup victory, 10 wins out of 11 World Cup matches on the subcontinent.