Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Pollock leads Mumbai's shock win

Mumbai Indians 162 for 8 (Mahesh 3-33) beat Delhi Daredevils 133 (Sehwag 40, Nehra 3-25) by 29 runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details
How they were out

A magnificent all-round performance by Shaun Pollock produced the biggest upset of the tournament as Mumbai Indians - languishing with just one win in five games - pipped the fancied Delhi Daredevils by 29 runs in a gripping contest at the DY Patil Sports Academy stadium. Requiring a modest 163 for the fifth win, Delhi's much-vaunted batting line-up collapsed for a paltry 133.

One player influenced this result more than any other. Pollock has had a mixed tournament so far, but here he was immense in every aspect. With the bat, he came in to bat in the 15th over, when Mumbai were languishing at 112 for 5, and blasted 33 off a mere 15 balls, including 22 off the penultimate over, which changed a below-par total into a competitive one. He then returned with the ball and sent down four metronomic overs, conceding just 16 for two wickets. In his second over, he nailed Shikhar Dhawan, and then returned for a second spell to dismiss the dangerous Shoaib Malik. Add a catch to dismiss Virender Sehwag, and some inspired captaincy moves, and there was no doubt about who the Man of the Match was.

Delhi's strength has been their top-order batting - their top three have been in outstanding form - but here, two of them were back in the hutch after 14 deliveries, and the rest failed to measure up. On a slow pitch, both Gautam Gambhir and Dhawan mistimed drives on the up, and after three overs, the scorecard read a sorry 6 for 2. To make matters worse, Sehwag struggled to get the strike, facing just seven deliveries in the first six overs.

AB de Villiers and Sehwag mounted a mini-revival, but when de Villiers was unluckily run out backing up too far, it was the first indication that the day was going to belong to Mumbai. Sehwag, though, wasn't about to give up too easily. He continued to struggle to get to the striker's end, but when he did, he made it count: Pollock was slashed over point for a huge six, Dwayne Bravo's slower one was heaved over the bowler's head, while Sanath Jayasuriya was greeted into the attack with two brutal sixes over long-on and midwicket, the first of which gave him the orange cap for the tournament's highest scorer. The next ball he faced was his last, though, as Pollock brought off a smart catch as Sehwag miscued a low full-toss off Dominic Thornely.

From there, it was a matter of holding their nerve, and Mumbai did that expertly. The bowling was spot-on, and the fielding showed an urgency which clearly demonstrated how much they wanted this win. Nothing exemplified the new-found spirit more than Ashish Nehra diving full-length at the long-on boundary to bring off an amazing save in the 16th over.

Shoaib Malik and Dinesh Karthik both threatened a fightback, but Mumbai weren't to be denied today. Pollock returned for a second spell and immediately had Malik scooping one to long-on as another batsman was defeated by lack of pace, while Pollock's golden touch then brought another success, as he tossed the ball to Bravo, who trapped Karthik plumb in front with his first ball. Nehra, the other stand-out bowler in the game, then took two wickets off two balls to seal the contest.

At the halfway mark, though, it seemed Mumbai's 162 would be inadequate. The absence of Sachin Tendulkar hit them hard again, especially against a new-ball bowling attack which had Glenn McGrath and Mohammad Asif. Yogesh Takawale, the 23-year-old wicketkeeper from Maharashtra who opened the innings, struggled to get the ball off the square, putting additional pressure on Jayasuriya. For a brief period, though, he responded magnificently. After starting off with a glorious cover-drive off McGrath, he flicked and lofted Asif for three fours. Yo Mahesh was greeted with a flicked six over square leg and a four to fine leg off successive balls. That, though, was as good as it got, as Takawale skied to third man, and Jayasuriya charged once too often and lost his off stump. Those two wickets in the space of three balls pegged back Mumbai, and they struggled to recover.

The one feature that ran through the Mumbai innings was their tendency to lose wickets every time they seemed to be snatching the momentum. Robin Uthappa struck successive sixes over long-on and midwicket, only to throw it away by attempting a cheeky scoop over fine leg. Dominic Thornely, who returned to the team after recovering from the blow to the eye off Zaheer Khan a couple of weeks ago, picked off Rajat Bhatia for a straight six before falling next ball, bowled while attempting a wild slog.

The reckless approach continued, as Abhishek Nayar moved to leg and missed a quick one from Sehwag, while Bravo lofted the fourth ball he faced straight to long-on. With the innings falling away alarmingly, it needed a quick blitz from Pollock to lift Mumbai to a somewhat respectable total. The 19th over - bowled by the lacklustre Asif - disappeared for 22 as Pollock smashed him straight, over extra cover, and over square leg for three sixes. A total of 162 still seemed below par, but that was before an inspired Mumbai Indian team took the field.

  • Mumbai and Delhi fined for slow over-rate

    The Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Daredevils have been fined US$1000 and $500 respectively by match referee Javagal Srinath for maintaining a slow over-rate during yesterday's match at the DY Patil Stadium

  • Perfect Pollock pulls Mumbai forward

    Shaun Pollock led by example and masterminded the biggest upset of the Indian Premier League as Mumbai toppled Delhi

  • Appealing off a free hit

    Plays of the Day from the match between the Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils at the DY Patil Stadium on May 4, 2008

  • Pollock leads Mumbai's shock win

    A magnificent all-round performance by Shaun Pollock produced the biggest upset of the tournament as Mumbai Indians - languishing with just one win in five games - pipped the fancied Delhi Daredevils by 29 runs

Daredevils 2nd innings Partnerships

1st3G GambhirV Sehwag
2nd1V SehwagS Dhawan
3rd33V SehwagAB de Villiers
4th45V SehwagShoaib Malik
5th27Shoaib MalikKD Karthik
6th10R BhatiaKD Karthik
7th11R BhatiaPJ Sangwan
8th0R BhatiaVY Mahesh
9th2Mohammad AsifVY Mahesh
10th1GD McGrathVY Mahesh

Indian Premier League