County Championship Division One at Horsham, Jul 30 - Aug 2 2008
419 & 264/5d
(38 ov, target 336)
348 & 128/2
Match drawn
Sussex 1st Innings
MH Yardy c Trego b Caddick681151519059.13
CD Nash  b Willoughby624341025.00
LJ Wright c Langer b Willoughby22192340115.78
MW Goodwin  b Caddick13722530421060.88
MJ Prior c de Bruyn b Willoughby1624383066.66
CJ Adams (c)lbw b Trego6193939065.59
CD Hopkinson c †Kieswetter b Jones4288967047.72
RSC Martin-Jenkins c Hildreth b Jones1625373064.00
OP Rayner c Caddick b Trego933410027.27
CD Collymore not out614341042.85
JD Lewry c Blackwell b Trego21280016.66
Extras(b 5, lb 13, nb 14, w 2)34
TOTAL(110.5 Ov, RR: 3.78)419
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Chris Nash), 2-60 (Luke Wright), 3-144 (Michael Yardy), 4-187 (Matt Prior), 5-291 (Chris Adams), 6-381 (Murray Goodwin), 7-389 (Carl Hopkinson), 8-400 (Robin Martin-Jenkins), 9-413 (Ollie Rayner), 10-419 (Jason Lewry)
CM Willoughby2419634.0020
PS Jones2137523.5702
AR Caddick2358923.8604
BJ Phillips1415303.7801
PD Trego15.544632.9000
ID Blackwell1304203.2300
Somerset 1st Innings
JL Langer (c) b Martin-Jenkins1534453044.11
ME Trescothick c †Prior b Martin-Jenkins9214919716161.74
Z de Bruyn  b Lewry7770120131110.00
JC Hildreth run out61138-7044.20
PD Trego c †Prior b Wright3232-50100.00
ID Blackwell c †Prior b Wright49231044.44
C Kieswetter c Wright b Collymore216230012.50
BJ Phillips c Wright b Collymore419330021.05
PS Jones c Collymore b Martin-Jenkins2527305092.59
AR Caddick lbw b Lewry1130261036.66
CM Willoughby not out019000.00
Extras(b 9, lb 11, nb 5)25
TOTAL(87.1 Ov, RR: 3.99)348
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Justin Langer), 2-174 (Zander de Bruyn), 3-198 (Marcus Trescothick), 4-253 (Peter Trego), 5-259 (Ian Blackwell), 6-272 (Craig Kieswetter), 7-289 (Ben Phillips), 8-322 (Steffan Jones), 9-343 (Andy Caddick), 10-348 (James Hildreth)
JD Lewry2017023.5000
CD Collymore21.156523.0700
RSC Martin-Jenkins2157133.3800
OP Rayner805506.8700
LJ Wright1736723.9402
Sussex 2nd Innings
MH Yardy run out68871109078.16
CD Nash lbw b Caddick1830473060.00
LJ Wright c Langer b Blackwell1751752033.33
MW Goodwin c Blackwell b Caddick2128323075.00
MJ Prior c †Kieswetter b Jones73768413096.05
CJ Adams (c)not out44871004150.57
CD Hopkinson not out822340036.36
Extras(lb 8, nb 6, w 1)15
TOTAL(63 Ov, RR: 4.19)264/5d
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Chris Nash), 2-104 (Michael Yardy), 3-124 (Luke Wright), 4-148 (Murray Goodwin), 5-242 (Matt Prior)
AR Caddick1445123.6401
CM Willoughby504108.2000
PS Jones1417615.4212
BJ Phillips712002.8500
PD Trego603005.0000
ID Blackwell1733812.2300
Somerset 2nd Innings (target: 336 runs)
JL Langer (c)c Adams b Rayner50821246060.97
ME Trescothick c Nash b Collymore1328271046.42
Z de Bruyn not out48981115048.97
JC Hildreth not out820142040.00
Extras(lb 4, w 5)9
TOTAL(38 Ov, RR: 3.36)128/2
Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Marcus Trescothick), 2-107 (Justin Langer)
JD Lewry602003.3300
CD Collymore802513.1210
LJ Wright411503.7500
RSC Martin-Jenkins511102.2000
OP Rayner923113.4400
MH Yardy602203.6600
Cricketfield Road Ground, Horsham
TossSussex , elected to bat first
SeriesCounty Championship Division One 2008
Hours of play (local time)11am start, Lunch 13.00-13.40, Tea 15.40-16.00, Close 18.00
Match days30,31, July, 1,2 August 2008 (4-day match)
Trevor Jesty
Jeff Evans
PointsSussex 12, Somerset 10
Wed, 30 Jul - day 1 - Sussex 1st innings 382/6 (CD Hopkinson 41*, RSC Martin-Jenkins 1*, 96 ov)
Thu, 31 Jul - day 2 - Somerset 1st innings 253/4 (JC Hildreth 26*, ID Blackwell 0*, 56.3 ov)
Fri, 01 Aug - day 3 - Sussex 2nd innings 264/5 (CJ Adams 44*, CD Hopkinson 8*, 63 ov)
Sat, 02 Aug - day 4 - Somerset 2nd innings 128/2 (38 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • Sussex 1st innings
  • MW Goodwin 100 in 242 mins off 182 balls, 16x4