County Championship Division One at The Oval, Sep 9-12 2008
210 & 148 (64 ov)
Hampshire won by an innings and 122 runs
Hampshire 1st Innings
MA Carberry c †Batty b Shoaib Akhtar31701055044.28
MJ Brown  b Tudor1639622041.02
MJ Lumb c Newman b Saqlain Mushtaq722202459032.72
CC Benham  b Dernbach2944684065.90
SM Ervine  b Dernbach611170054.54
N Pothas not out13723833819057.56
LA Dawson c Shoaib Akhtar b Tudor3859738064.40
AD Mascarenhas (c)c †Batty b Spriegel9911411218086.84
CT Tremlett c †Batty b Spriegel013000.00
Imran Tahir not out22202940110.00
Extras(b 9, lb 8, nb 12, w 1)30
TOTAL(135 Ov, RR: 3.55)480/8d
Did not bat: JA Tomlinson 
Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Michael Brown), 2-60 (Michael Carberry), 3-117 (Chris Benham), 4-125 (Sean Ervine), 5-214 (Michael Lumb), 6-286 (Liam Dawson), 7-451 (Dimitri Mascarenhas), 8-451 (Chris Tremlett)
Shoaib Akhtar1935412.8412
JW Dernbach2029524.7500
PT Collins2567803.1203
AJ Tudor2449023.7500
Saqlain Mushtaq2848613.0701
JGE Benning301103.6600
U Afzaal1122101.9000
MNW Spriegel502825.6000
Surrey 1st Innings
SA Newman c Brown b Tomlinson58677812086.56
MNW Spriegel c †Pothas b Mascarenhas01413000.00
MR Ramprakash (c) b Imran Tahir611552307039.35
JN Batty run out02-000.00
U Afzaal lbw b Tomlinson2064662031.25
AJ Tudor lbw b Imran Tahir01011000.00
JGE Benning  b Imran Tahir1820143090.00
Saqlain Mushtaq c Ervine b Imran Tahir1970011.11
JW Dernbach c Ervine b Dawson34643006.52
Shoaib Akhtar not out27162323168.75
PT Collins c Tremlett b Dawson412101033.33
Extras(b 13, lb 3, nb 2)18
TOTAL(69 Ov, RR: 3.04)210
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Matt Spriegel), 2-78 (Scott Newman), 3-78 (Jonathan Batty), 4-123 (Usman Afzaal), 5-126 (Alex Tudor), 6-162 (James Benning), 7-164 (Saqlain Mushtaq), 8-175 (Jade Dernbach), 9-183 (Mark Ramprakash), 10-210 (Pedro Collins)
CT Tremlett1654702.9301
AD Mascarenhas1263512.9100
JA Tomlinson1545123.4000
Imran Tahir2282941.3100
LA Dawson413228.0000
Surrey 2nd Innings (following on)
SA Newman c Ervine b Mascarenhas51819810062.96
MNW Spriegel lbw b Mascarenhas432381012.50
JGE Benning lbw b Mascarenhas640431015.00
MR Ramprakash (c)c Brown b Mascarenhas1113252084.61
JN Batty c Benham b Tremlett217150011.76
U Afzaal not out401111296036.03
AJ Tudor c Ervine b Tremlett087000.00
Saqlain Mushtaq  b Tomlinson2464774037.50
JW Dernbach c †Pothas b Tremlett47111057.14
Shoaib Akhtar c Lumb b Tomlinson28160025.00
PT Collins  b Tomlinson042000.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 2, w 1)4
TOTAL(64 Ov, RR: 2.31)148
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Matt Spriegel), 2-61 (James Benning), 3-66 (Scott Newman), 4-75 (Mark Ramprakash), 5-75 (Jonathan Batty), 6-75 (Alex Tudor), 7-128 (Saqlain Mushtaq), 8-137 (Jade Dernbach), 9-148 (Shoaib Akhtar), 10-148 (Pedro Collins)
CT Tremlett1352832.1511
AD Mascarenhas1281341.0800
JA Tomlinson1435834.1400
Imran Tahir1553402.2600
LA Dawson741001.4200
SM Ervine32401.3300
Kennington Oval, London
TossSurrey , elected to field first
SeriesCounty Championship Division One 2008
Hours of play (local time)10.30am start, Lunch 12.30-13.10, Tea 15.10-15.30, Close 17.30.
Match days9,10,11,12 September 2008 (4-day match)
Neil Mallender
Nigel Llong
PointsHampshire 22, Surrey 2
Tue, 09 Sep - day 1 - Hampshire 1st innings 116/2 (MJ Lumb 29*, CC Benham 28*, 39 ov)
Wed, 10 Sep - day 2 - Hampshire 1st innings 480/8 (N Pothas 137*, Imran Tahir 22*, 135 ov)
Thu, 11 Sep - day 3 - Surrey 1st innings 171/7 (MR Ramprakash 55*, JW Dernbach 2*, 55 ov)
Fri, 12 Sep - day 4 - Surrey 2nd innings 148 (64 ov) - end of match
Day 4
  • Surrey deducted 1 point for a slow-over rate
Day 1
  • Hampshire 1st innings
  • N Pothas 100 in 229 mins off 162 balls, 15x4