Worcestershire 149 for 4 (Mitchell 58) Leicestershire 147 for 6 by six wickets

A second match in 24 hours was a step too far for Leicestershire as their NatWest T20 Blast challenge took a blow with a six-wicket defeat by Worcestershire at New Road.

Daryl Mitchell was the home side's wounded matchwinner, accelerating to the only half-century of the evening after taking a fearful crack on his right arm early in the reply to Leicestershire's total of 147 for 6.

Early in his innings Worcestershire's captain was unable to dodge a thunderous straight drive by his partner, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, but with his elbow strapped up, he was able to lead a well-paced victory charge with 58 from 47 balls.

Three of his six fours came after Worcestershire had gone through almost eight overs without a boundary and when he was dismissed by Rob Taylor, thin edging a cut behind the wicket, Ben Cox and Ross Whiteley wrapped up a first T20 Blast win of the season with 14 balls to spare.

Ben Cox justified his promotion up the order with an unbeaten 30 from 26 deliveries and Ross Whiteley was simply brutal in finishing it off a four and two sixes off Ben Raine. The former Derbyshire batsman needed only 11 balls to make 26 not out.

From Leicestershire's point of view, the finish was abrupt and probably unexpected after their bowlers apparently held the upper hand.

There were wickets for Taylor, Raine and Nigar Jaik as the boundaries dried up after Colin Munro had hit a six off the first ball he faced in his first competitive innings in 66 days. However the New Zealand allrounder was soon stumped for 11.

A string of heavy showers blew away and gave away to a sunny evening as Leicestershire posted what would have been seen as a reasonably competitive score on a sluggish surface.

After losing the toss, it was became a struggle for anyone to play a truly dominant innings. Mark Cosgrove, with 27 from 24 balls, and Grant Elliott, with 33 from 32, were as comfortable as anyone and Tom Wells got them close to 150 with an unbeaten 26 from 14, including a pull for six in the final over from Joe Leach.

Ned Eckersley was the only player among the top seven to miss out on double figures when caught at mid-wicket in Jack Shantry's second over but Leicestershire took 56 off the power play for the loss of only one more wicket, Kevin O'Brien falling leg-before to England Under-19 allrounder Ed Barnard.

Worcestershire's spinners then dragged the rate back for a while. Raine holed out at midwicket from D'Oliveira's first ball and Sachithra Senanayake claimed the big prize when Cosgrove gave a catch to short cover from the Sri Lankan's second delivery.

The Australian's departure was followed by the one substantial partnership as Elliott and Niall O'Brien put on 50 in 7.5 overs before they were pegged back in quick succession.

After making 26 from 25 balls, O'Brien was caught at deep square leg in a good containing spell by Mitchell and Elliott steered Barnard to short third man.