Match Centre

Match Details


Dhaka Dynamites , elected to field first

Player Of The Match

Player Of The Series

Series result

Rangpur Riders won the 2017/18 Bangladesh Premier League


Hours of play (local time)

18.00 start, First Session 18.00-19.30, Interval 19.30-19.50, Second Session 19.50-21.20

Match days

12 December 2017 - night match (20-over match)

TV Umpires

Reserve Umpire

Match Referee

Scorer: Ranjith P | Commentator: Deivarayan Muthu

20 | 2 Runs | DP: 149/9 (58 runs required, RR: 7.45)

  • Abu Hider9 (11b)
  • Khaled Ahmed8 (9b)
  • Chris Gayle1-0-2-0
  • Isuru Udana4-0-25-2

10.15pm Mashrafe collects the trophy and is joined by his jubilant team-mates. Rangpur Riders celebrate under firework-filled skies. That's a wrap of this season's BPL. Hope you enjoyed our coverage as much as we did bringing it to you. Goodbye and good night for now.

10pm Gayle: I am disappointed with my bowling but I'm still the best offspinner in the world. It was a slow start to the tournament, but we peaked in the right time in the qualifier. Charles and McCullum eased the pressure off me. Mash showed quality. It was a team effort overall and that was important. I want to thank the management and the physio. It was a great tournament and thank you to the Bangladesh fans for the support. Hopefully, I will be here next year too.

Shakib: What we have achieved in the tournament was terrific. We worked so hard to make the final but today was Gayle's show. I missed a chance and that cost us the trophy I think. You expect me to bowl four overs but when Gayle was on song it was hard for me to bowl, If Gayle had got out, I would have bowled four overs. It has been a terrific tournament and I hope it continues. Hopefully, we get some players for the Bangladesh international team.

Mashrafe: Batsmen like Gayle batting 20 overs, the way he is batting is phenomenal. We got the cup because of Gayle only. We bowled very well and batted very well. The trophy is for Rangpur Riders and the players are happy. I am happy the owners and the management are happy.

9.45pm That is that. Apologies, we lost the feed in the last over. Rangpur secure their maiden BPL title. Mashrafe Mortaza has played four BPL finals as captain and has won all. Gayle is being mobbed by his team-mates. He shellacked 18 sixes - the most by any batsman in a T20 match. Here is how Gayle broke records and Dhaka. Gayle, of course, is the Man of the Match and the Man of the tournament

Tahia Tahia: "Take a bow Mashrafe Mortaza, the man of the moment, the man who makes history! Making yet another team take the trophy home. Man, he deserves an ICC trophy. Please please please! 2019 World Cup, please!"

Muhammad Imran: "Dhaka beat Gayle by 3 runs... Better luck next time... "

Gayle to Abu Hider, no run,
Gayle to Khaled Ahmed, 1 run,
Gayle to Abu Hider, 1 run,
Gayle to Abu Hider, no run,
Gayle to Abu Hider, no run,
Gayle to Abu Hider, no run,

Gayle to bowl the last over

Dynamites 2nd innings Partnerships

1st0Mehedi MarufE Lewis
2nd1JL DenlyE Lewis
3rd18Shakib Al HasanE Lewis
4th10Shakib Al HasanKA Pollard
5th42Jahurul IslamShakib Al Hasan
6th3Jahurul IslamMosaddek Hossain
7th13Shahid AfridiJahurul Islam
8th42Jahurul IslamSP Narine
9th3Jahurul IslamAbu Hider
10th17Abu HiderKhaled Ahmed

Bangladesh Premier League