468 & 219/4d
(target 403)285 & 143/5
Match drawn
Player Of The Match
122 & 50
Player Of The Series
20 runs • 41 wkts
Australia 1st INNINGS
Geoff Marsh c Igglesden b Small1762792027.41
Mark Taylor c †Russell b Igglesden711251624056.80
David Boon c Atherton b Small46901246051.11
Allan Border (c)c †Russell b Capel7615625111048.71
Dean Jones c Gower b Small12218021717067.77
Steve Waugh  b Igglesden1428441050.00
Ian Healy c †Russell b Pringle44445960100.00
Trevor Hohns c †Russell b Pringle3062964048.38
Merv Hughes lbw b Pringle2142463050.00
Geoff Lawson  b Pringle2890025.00
Terry Alderman not out 610161060.00
Extras(b 1, lb 9, nb 9)19
TOTAL(132.3 Ov, RR: 3.53)468
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Geoff Marsh), 2-130 (Mark Taylor), 3-149 (David Boon), 4-345 (Allan Border), 5-347 (Dean Jones), 6-386 (Steve Waugh), 7-409 (Ian Healy), 8-447 (Merv Hughes), 9-453 (Geoff Lawson), 10-468 (Trevor Hohns)
Gladstone Small40814133.52---00
Alan Igglesden2429123.79---00
Derek Pringle24.367042.85---00
David Capel1626614.12---00
Nick Cook2557803.12---00
Mike Atherton1010010.00---00
Graham Gooch21201.00---00
England 1st INNINGS
Graham Gooch lbw b Alderman032000.00
John Stephenson c Waugh b Alderman25661212037.87
Mike Atherton c †Healy b Hughes1234512035.29
Robin Smith  b Lawson1119192057.89
David Gower (c)c †Healy b Alderman7912016611065.83
David Capel lbw b Alderman43310133.33
Jack Russell c †Healy b Alderman1213202092.30
Derek Pringle c Taylor b Hohns27901480030.00
Gladstone Small c Jones b Lawson59971398060.82
Nick Cook c Jones b Lawson311021242030.39
Alan Igglesden not out 22338008.69
Extras(b 2, lb 7, nb 13, w 1)23
TOTAL(92.1 Ov, RR: 3.09)285
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Graham Gooch), 2-28 (Mike Atherton), 3-47 (Robin Smith), 4-80 (John Stephenson), 5-84 (David Capel), 6-98 (Jack Russell), 7-169 (David Gower), 8-201 (Derek Pringle), 9-274 (Gladstone Small), 10-285 (Nick Cook)
Terry Alderman2776652.44---00
Geoff Lawson29.198532.91---00
Merv Hughes2338413.65---00
Trevor Hohns1013013.00---00
Steve Waugh301103.66---00
Australia 2nd INNINGS
Geoff Marsh lbw b Igglesden413150030.76
Mark Taylor c †Russell b Small481201537040.00
David Boon run out 371071434034.57
Allan Border (c)not out 51741095068.91
Dean Jones  b Capel5069794072.46
Steve Waugh not out 712240058.33
Extras(b 2, lb 7, nb 13)22
TOTAL(63 Ov, RR: 3.47)219/4d
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Geoff Marsh), 2-100 (Mark Taylor), 3-101 (David Boon), 4-189 (Dean Jones)
Gladstone Small2045712.85---00
Alan Igglesden1315514.23---00
David Capel803514.37---00
Derek Pringle1605303.31---00
Nick Cook621001.66---00
England 2nd INNINGS (target: 403 runs)
Graham Gooch c & b Alderman1034550029.41
John Stephenson lbw b Alderman1123321047.82
Mike Atherton  b Lawson1447652029.78
Robin Smith not out 779914611077.77
David Gower (c)c Waugh b Lawson724240029.16
David Capel c Taylor b Hohns1750692034.00
Jack Russell not out 069000.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 5, w 1)7
TOTAL(46.1 Ov, RR: 3.09)143/5
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (John Stephenson), 2-27 (Graham Gooch), 3-51 (Mike Atherton), 4-67 (David Gower), 5-138 (David Capel)
Terry Alderman1333022.30---00
Geoff Lawson15.124122.70---00
Merv Hughes823404.25---00
Trevor Hohns1023713.70---00
Kennington Oval, London
TossAustralia, elected to bat first
SeriesAustralia tour of England, Scotland, Netherlands and Denmark
Player Of The Match
Dean Jones
Dean Jones
Player Of The Series
Terry Alderman
Terry Alderman
Jack Russell
Jack Russell
Series resultAustralia won the 6-match series 4-0
Match numberTest no. 1126
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Alan Igglesden
Alan Igglesden
John Stephenson
John Stephenson
England Image
Dickie Bird
England Image
Ken Palmer
Thu, 24 Aug - day 1 - Australia 1st innings 325/3 (Allan Border 66*, Dean Jones 114*)
Fri, 25 Aug - day 2 - England 1st innings 1/1 (John Stephenson 0*, Mike Atherton 0*)
Sat, 26 Aug - day 3 - England 1st innings 124/6 (David Gower 43*, Derek Pringle 6*)
Sun, 27 Aug - rest day
Mon, 28 Aug - day 4 - Australia 2nd innings 87/1 (Mark Taylor 43*, David Boon 29*)
Tue, 29 Aug - day 5 - England 2nd innings 143/5 (46.1 ov) - end of match
  • Attendance: 55,989
  • A.R.Border becomes the first Australian captain since W.M.Woodful in 1934 to regain the Ashes in England.