6th Match (D/N), Sharjah, Apr 22 1998, Coca-Cola Cup
(46/46 ov, target 276)250/5
Australia won by 26 runs (revised target)
player of the match
Australia INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Adam Gilchrist c †Mongia b Harvinder Singh1113201084.61
Mark Waugh c Ganguly b Tendulkar81991257281.81
Ricky Ponting st †Mongia b Harbhajan Singh31264041119.23
Damien Martyn  b Kumble1330033.33
Michael Bevan not out 1011031389098.05
Steve Waugh (c)run out (Tendulkar)1016201062.50
Darren Lehmann  b Prasad2627312096.29
Tom Moody c Azharuddin b Prasad510180050.00
Shane Warne not out 74610175.00
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 6)11
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.68)284/7
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Adam Gilchrist, 3.6 ov), 2-84 (Ricky Ponting, 13.6 ov), 3-87 (Damien Martyn, 14.6 ov), 4-177 (Mark Waugh, 31.4 ov), 5-197 (Steve Waugh, 36.4 ov), 6-250 (Darren Lehmann, 44.3 ov), 7-271 (Tom Moody, 48.4 ov)
Venkatesh Prasad804125.12---21
Harvinder Singh704416.28---00
Anil Kumble1004114.09---10
Harbhajan Singh806317.87---10
Sourav Ganguly201507.50---00
Hrishikesh Kanitkar603305.50---10
VVS Laxman401604.00---10
Sachin Tendulkar502715.40---00
India INNINGS (target: 276 runs from 46 overs)
Sourav Ganguly lbw b Fleming1732382053.12
Sachin Tendulkar c †Gilchrist b Fleming14313118795109.16
Nayan Mongia c ME Waugh b Moody3546554176.08
Mohammad Azharuddin (c) b Moody1420240070.00
Ajay Jadeja c †Gilchrist b SR Waugh1540020.00
VVS Laxman not out 2334751067.64
Hrishikesh Kanitkar not out 514120035.71
Extras(lb 5, nb 4, w 3)12
TOTAL(46 Ov, RR: 5.43)250/5
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Sourav Ganguly, 8.3 ov), 2-107 (Nayan Mongia, 21.5 ov), 3-135 (Mohammad Azharuddin, 27.5 ov), 4-138 (Ajay Jadeja, 28.6 ov), 5-242 (Sachin Tendulkar, 42.6 ov)
Damien Fleming1004624.59---01
Michael Kasprowicz905506.11---13
Shane Warne903904.33---00
Tom Moody904024.44---11
Steve Waugh906517.22---10
Sharjah Cricket Stadium
TossAustralia, elected to bat first
SeriesCoca-Cola Cup
Player Of The Match
Sachin Tendulkar
Sachin Tendulkar
Match numberODI no. 1325
Match daysdaynight(50-over match)
Zimbabwe Image
Ian Robinson
West Indies Image
Steve Bucknor
TV Umpire
Pakistan Image
Javed Akhtar
Match Referee
Pakistan Image
Talat Ali
PointsAustralia 2, India 0
  • India required 254 to pass New Zealand on net run rate, and qualify
  • for the final.
  • Sand storm disrupted the play by about 25 minutes. Indian target
  • after the break was 276 to win in 46 overs, or 237 in 46
  • to qualify for the final.