Matches (28)
ILT20 (2)
SA v ENG (1)
IND v NZ (1)
PAK-W in AUS (1)
Ranji Trophy (17)
BBL (1)
WU19 WC (2)
Super Smash (1)
BPL 2023 (2)
11th Match, Hobart, February 26, 2008, Commonwealth Bank Series
(32.2/50 ov, T:180) 180/3

India won by 7 wickets (with 106 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
Sri Lanka Innings
India Innings
Match Details
Sri Lanka  (50 ovs maximum)
Dilruwan Perera  b I Sharma813151061.53
Sanath Jayasuriya c †Dhoni b Pathan3444882177.27
Kumar Sangakkara c †Dhoni b Kumar3342474078.57
Mahela Jayawardene (c)c RG Sharma b Kumar311120027.27
Chamara Silva c †Dhoni b Kumar047000.00
Tillakaratne Dilshan lbw b I Sharma812201066.66
Chamara Kapugedera c & b Harbhajan Singh57861194066.27
Chaminda Vaas c Gambhir b I Sharma0710000.00
Lasith Malinga c Uthappa b I Sharma1236560033.33
Muthiah Muralidaran  b Kumar1327311048.14
Ishara Amerasinghe not out 012000.00
Extras(lb 5, w 6)11
TOTAL47.1 Ov (RR: 3.79, 207 Mts)179
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Dilruwan Perera, 3.2 ov), 2-72 (Kumar Sangakkara, 14.1 ov), 3-77 (Mahela Jayawardene, 16.5 ov), 4-81 (Chamara Silva, 18.3 ov), 5-81 (Sanath Jayasuriya, 19.3 ov), 6-93 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 23.3 ov), 7-93 (Chaminda Vaas, 25.4 ov), 8-139 (Lasith Malinga, 38.4 ov), 9-179 (Muthiah Muralidaran, 46.5 ov), 10-179 (Chamara Kapugedera, 47.1 ov)
Munaf Patel905105.66346010
Ishant Sharma1004144.10393120
3.2 to MDK Perera, straight through him there, Ishant pitches on off on a great length, Perera came out to drive forward but the ball beats the outside edge and held its line to clip the off stump. 15/1
23.3 to TM Dilshan, a huge shout for one which was veering on towards middle and leg, Dilshan was across but not far forward, and there wasn't much wrong at all there. 93/6
25.4 to WPUJC Vaas, outside off, the batsman pulls up and over to midwicket, where it's taken easily, Vaas not getting over the ball at all. 93/7
38.4 to SL Malinga, outside off and yet again Sri Lankan shot selection lets them down, although credit to the bowler at the same time, beating him for pace and Malinga tried to pull it but the ball went high and up over to Uthappa who set himself to take the catch at mid-off. 139/8
Irfan Pathan1022312.30462000
19.3 to ST Jayasuriya, banged in outside off, Jayasuriya goes for a huge hook and doesn't get over it, instead the ball flies up high and Dhoni shuffles round a few paces, with plenty of time to set himself for the catch. 81/5
Praveen Kumar1023143.10421020
14.1 to KC Sangakkara, got him! Sangakkara charges and then pokes at a short one down off, opening the face and prodding straight into Dhoni's hands. 72/2
16.5 to DPMD Jayawardene, outside off, and that's a screamer of a catch, Jayawardene laces hard off the back foot to point where it's taken very quickly and very low by Rohit Sharma. 77/3
18.3 to LPC Silva, quality delivery from Kumar, and another good catch from Dhoni - the ball coming outside off, straightening on the rise and Silva pops through to the keeper off the back foot. 81/4
46.5 to M Muralidaran, backs away and goes across the line aiming towards midwicket and missed it completely, the ball veering down leg, catching the right thigh and moving a touch back to just clip leg stick. 179/9
Harbhajan Singh4.101714.08141000
47.1 to CK Kapugedera, a soft dismissal to end a fine innings, Kapugedera coming out and poppin up a soft return pull to Harbhajan who had pinged the ball down off. 179/10
Yuvraj Singh401102.75160010
India  (T: 180 runs from 50 ovs)
Robin Uthappa c Amerasinghe b Malinga119720122.22
Sachin Tendulkar c Silva b Muralidaran635492100116.66
Gautam Gambhir not out 63891255070.78
Yuvraj Singh c Dilshan b Perera36353141102.85
Rohit Sharma not out 3780042.85
Extras(w 4)4
TOTAL32.2 Ov (RR: 5.56, 133 Mts)180/3
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Robin Uthappa, 1.5 ov), 2-120 (Sachin Tendulkar, 20.1 ov), 3-171 (Yuvraj Singh, 29.4 ov)
Chaminda Vaas602904.83213000
Lasith Malinga603616.00215030
1.5 to RV Uthappa, on to him a touch too quickly and he tried to flick through the on-side once more, a leading edge flies up to mid-on and it's calmly taken by Amerasinghe. 18/1
Ishara Amerasinghe704005.71277000
Muthiah Muralidaran8.205416.48184110
20.1 to SR Tendulkar, an inside out drive out to long-off, well bowled by Murali throwing it up on middle and leg, Tendulkar went wider and didn't quite control the shot and it was well caught by Silva in the deep. 120/2
Sanath Jayasuriya10404.0020000
Dilruwan Perera401714.25142000
29.4 to Yuvraj Singh, Caught by Dilshan at cover!! delivery looped up on the off, curving in and spins away from the left hander sharply, Yuvraj comes on the frontfoot and looks to go for the expansive cover drive, finds the man, tame dismissal and Yuvraj departs just. 171/3
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Bellerive Oval, Hobart
TossIndia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Praveen Kumar
Match numberODI no. 2686
Hours of play (local time)10.00 start, First Session 10.00-13.30 Interval 13.30-13.55, Second Session 13.55-17.25
Match days26 February 2008 - day (50-over match)
South Africa
Rudi Koertzen
Simon Taufel
TV Umpire
Bruce Oxenford
Reserve Umpire
Steven John
Match Referee
New Zealand
Jeff Crowe
PointsIndia 5, Sri Lanka 0
  • Sri Lanka innings
  • Sri Lanka: 50 runs in 10.1 overs (63 balls), Extras 2
  • Power Play 2: Overs 10.1 - 15.0
  • 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 54 balls (ST Jayasuriya 20, KC Sangakkara 30, Ex 0)
  • Power Play 3: Overs 15.1 - 20.0
  • Drinks: Sri Lanka - 77/3 in 16.5 overs (ST Jayasuriya 30)
  • Sri Lanka: 100 runs in 28.5 overs (177 balls), Extras 4
  • Drinks: Sri Lanka - 106/7 in 31.0 overs (CK Kapugedera 10, SL Malinga 6)
  • Sri Lanka: 150 runs in 41.6 overs (258 balls), Extras 11
  • CK Kapugedera: 50 off 81 balls (3 x 4)
  • Innings Break: Sri Lanka - 179/10 in 47.1 overs (MKDI Amerasinghe 0)
  • India innings
  • India: 50 runs in 9.3 overs (60 balls), Extras 3
  • 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 63 balls (SR Tendulkar 34, G Gambhir 16, Ex 2)
  • Drinks: India - 93/1 in 16.0 overs (SR Tendulkar 47, G Gambhir 32)
  • SR Tendulkar: 50 off 44 balls (9 x 4)
  • India: 100 runs in 16.4 overs (103 balls), Extras 3
  • 2nd Wicket: 100 runs in 108 balls (SR Tendulkar 56, G Gambhir 41, Ex 3)
  • G Gambhir: 50 off 72 balls (4 x 4)
  • India: 150 runs in 25.5 overs (159 balls), Extras 4
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 54 balls (G Gambhir 14, Yuvraj Singh 36, Ex 0)
  • Match Scorer: Binoy George