Hobart, December 14, 2008, Ford Ranger Cup
(48/50 ov, T:239) 197

Queensland won by 41 runs

Player Of The Match
Queensland Innings
Tasmania Innings
Queensland  (50 ovs maximum)
Clinton Perren  b Drew40841104047.61
James Hopes c Lockyear b Doherty4961835080.32
Lee Carseldine lbw b Doherty5567874182.08
Nathan Reardon c Lockyear b Doherty66638032104.76
Aaron Nye c †Dawson b Hilfenhaus2650033.33
Glen Batticciotto not out 11102400110.00
Chris Simpson (c)c Faulkner b Drew021000.00
Chris Hartley not out 5780071.42
Extras(lb 3, w 7)10
TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 4.76, 202 Mins)238/6
Fall of wickets: 1-81 (James Hopes, 20.6 ov), 2-108 (Clinton Perren, 27.5 ov), 3-198 (Lee Carseldine, 43.3 ov), 4-201 (Aaron Nye, 44.5 ov), 5-228 (Nathan Reardon, 47.6 ov), 6-228 (Chris Simpson, 48.2 ov)
Ben Hilfenhaus1003713.70372020
44.5 to AJ Nye, shortish outside off, tries to guide down to third man but only succeeds in getting a feather touch through to the keeper. 201/4
Brendan Drew904024.44315000
27.5 to CT Perren, slower ball, goes for the drive (without much footwork) and gets a big inside edge onto the stumps. 108/2
48.2 to CP Simpson, good line and length, goes for the big shot over mid off but doesn't time it, skying it to the debutant at mid off, who takes the catch, despite making it quite difficult for himself. 228/6
Chris Duval1004804.80273000
James Faulkner803304.12243000
Xavier Doherty905235.77231230
20.6 to JR Hopes, gets back to cut, the extra bounce undoes him as the cut balloons to point, who takes the catch diving forward JUST above the ground, well taken. 81/1
43.3 to LA Carseldine, darted in towards middle, Carseldine gets down to sweep, hits him in line with off and certainly appeared to be hitting the stumps. 198/3
47.6 to NJ Reardon, flighted and smashed down to long on, doesn't quite have the legs and is caught on the boundary. 228/5
Daniel Marsh402506.25112100
Tasmania  (T: 239 runs from 50 ovs)
Rhett Lockyear c Batticciotto b Swan2024291083.33
Michael Dighton c †Hartley b Swan011000.00
George Bailey c Batticciotto b Laughlin39851081045.88
Daniel Marsh (c)c Reardon b Swan211140018.18
Travis Birt c Reardon b Hopes1560020.00
David Dawson lbw b Laughlin619370031.57
James Faulkner c †Hartley b Laughlin2344400052.27
Brendan Drew  b Hopes2125371184.00
Xavier Doherty lbw b Laughlin2635420074.28
Chris Duval  b Hopes25203311125.00
Ben Hilfenhaus not out 1819191094.73
Extras(lb 9, w 7)16
TOTAL48 Ov (RR: 4.10, 182 Mins)197
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Michael Dighton, 0.2 ov), 2-32 (Rhett Lockyear, 8.1 ov), 3-35 (Daniel Marsh, 12.2 ov), 4-38 (Travis Birt, 13.6 ov), 5-54 (David Dawson, 20.1 ov), 6-93 (George Bailey, 30.2 ov), 7-100 (James Faulkner, 32.3 ov), 8-143 (Brendan Drew, 39.4 ov), 9-155 (Xavier Doherty, 42.5 ov), 10-197 (Chris Duval, 47.6 ov)
Chris Swan1031731.70471000
0.2 to MG Dighton, rotten luck, a fullish in swinger catches a feather touch on its way down leg and through to the keeper. 1/1
8.1 to RJG Lockyear, fullish slower ball outside off, deceives him in flight and he skies it to cover, who has to track back but takes a relatively simple catch. 32/2
12.2 to DJ Marsh, short outside off, throws everything at it and gets a big top edge straight down third man's throat, simple catch. 35/3
Ryan Harris1004704.70302020
James Hopes1013933.90390110
13.6 to TR Birt, fullish on off, perhaps holds up off the wicket a little, Birt pushes forward and lobs it straight down mid off's throat, simple catch. 38/4
39.4 to BG Drew, slower ball keeps a little bit lower and gets between bat and pad. Batted well for his 21.. 143/8
47.6 to CJ Duval, tries to pull but misses and Hopes takes the top of off. May have been a slight inside edge in there, not sure.. 197/10
Ben Laughlin1004344.30300030
20.1 to DG Dawson, fullish and angled in towards middle, Dawson falls towards the off side as he tries to flick, catches him in front of middle, umpire has a think about it but has to fire him. 54/5
30.2 to GJ Bailey, . 93/6
32.3 to JP Faulkner, backs away and tries to cut, gets a feather touch through to the keeper. 100/7
42.5 to XJ Doherty, walks across his stumps and gets struck in front of middle, going on to hit off. Perhaps a slight question as to whether it struck in line, but fortunately we can't go to the third umpire for that in this competition. 155/9
Chris Simpson804205.25242110
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Bellerive Oval, Hobart
TossQueensland, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Chris Swan
Hours of play (local time)11.15 start, First Session 11.15-14.45, Interval 14.45-15.15, Second Session 15.15-18.45
Match days14 December 2008 - day (50-over match)
List A debut
James Faulkner
James Faulkner
TV Umpire
PointsQueensland 4, Tasmania 0
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Tasmania Innings
<1 / 3>
Ford Ranger Cup