Matches (33)
BAN v NZ (1)
SA v WI (A tour) (1)
WI v IRE (EME) (1)
Abu Dhabi T10 (6)
Legends League (2)
NZ v PAK (W) (1)
Hazare Trophy (18)
WI v ENG (1)
IND v ENG (W) (1)
AUS v PAK (1)
Only T20I (N), Melbourne, February 01, 2008, India tour of Australia
(11.2/20 ov, T:75) 75/1

Australia won by 9 wickets (with 52 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
37* (36)
India Innings
Australia Innings
Match Flow
India  (20 ovs maximum)
c Hopes b Bracken96910150.00
run out (Clarke)035000.00
b Lee88910100.00
c DJ Hussey b Bracken1370033.33
b Hopes881510100.00
c Lee b DJ Hussey927300033.33
c †Gilchrist b Bracken2630410086.66
c Voges b Noffke61080060.00
c Clarke b Voges1350033.33
c Hodge b Voges011000.00
not out 3680050.00
Extras(w 3)3
TOTAL17.3 Ov (RR: 4.22, 73 Mins)74
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Virender Sehwag, 0.5 ov), 2-12 (Gautam Gambhir, 1.4 ov), 3-20 (Dinesh Karthik, 2.6 ov), 4-20 (Robin Uthappa, 3.2 ov), 5-32 (Rohit Sharma, 6.4 ov), 6-49 (MS Dhoni, 11.4 ov), 7-60 (Praveen Kumar, 14.1 ov), 8-63 (Harbhajan Singh, 15.2 ov), 9-63 (Sreesanth, 15.3 ov), 10-74 (Irfan Pathan, 17.3 ov)
2.6 to KD Karthik, booming low full toss, Karthik plays all around it and he just didn't see it, the ball skittles the sticks. 20/3
1.4 to G Gambhir, and now a soft dismissal, the ball landing outside off and Gambhir hardly gets any bat on a tame would-be-lofted drive to mid-off where Hopes takes an easy catch. 12/2
3.2 to RV Uthappa, slower ball, a touch of loop in at the right hander who waits for the ball to cross him and then drives uppishly to mid-off where David Hussey gets on the international scoresheet for the first time. 20/4
17.3 to IK Pathan, He's gone this time, stepping back, exposing his stumps, and trying to crack a back-foot cut off one which nipped in, Gilchrist taking the edge. 74/10
14.1 to P Kumar, outside off, plenty of room, driven hard but aerially to a wideish long-off. 60/7
6.4 to RG Sharma, Hopes strikes with his fourth ball! The ball comes in on a good length on off, Sharma shapes to swivel a pull round, misses, and his off stump is clipped. 32/5
11.4 to MS Dhoni, swivels in on middle, a touch short, and that's Hussey's first wicket as Dhoni stands tall and swats a pull to deep midwicket which doesn't quite have the legs. 49/6
15.2 to Harbhajan Singh, swivelled in to the middle stump and a magnificent catch from Clarke, who's fielding has been excellent from the off, removes the batsman with a diving effort. 63/8
15.3 to S Sreesanth, steps down the track, outside off, to meet the ball that doesn't quite come on to the bat, shapes to drive over cover, takes a slight edge, spoons to gully and that's another terrific catch, scooped low. 63/9
Australia  (T: 75 runs from 20 ovs)
c Gambhir b Kumar25223421113.63
not out 37365011102.77
not out 10101500100.00
Extras(b 1, lb 1, w 1)3
TOTAL11.2 Ov (RR: 6.61, 50 Mins)75/1
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Adam Gilchrist, 7.3 ov)
7.3 to AC Gilchrist, he goes for the big one again, holing out at long-on, and is well caught, low in front. 57/1
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
  • India innings
  • India: 50 runs in 12.1 overs (76 balls), Extras 3
  • Innings Break: India - 74/10 in 17.3 overs (I Sharma 3)
  • Australia innings
  • Australia: 50 runs in 6.5 overs (41 balls), Extras 2
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 41 balls (AC Gilchrist 19, MJ Clarke 30, Ex 2)
  • Attendance: 84,041
  • Match Scorer: Binoy George
Melbourne Cricket Ground
TossIndia, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Match numberT20I no. 52
Hours of play (local time)19.35 start, First Session 19.35-20.55 Interval 20.55-21.15, Second Session 21.15-22.35
Match days1 February 2008 - night (20-over match)
T20I debut
TV Umpire
Reserve Umpire
Match Referee