2nd Test, Christchurch, Feb 5 - 10 1976, India tour of New Zealand
270 & 255/6
Match drawn
India 1st INNINGS
Sunil Gavaskar c Burgess b Collinge22---0-
Dilip Vengsarkar c †Wadsworth b Collinge16---0-
Surinder Amarnath  b Collinge11---0-
Gundappa Viswanath c Turner b DR Hadlee83-178100-
Brijesh Patel c Burgess b Collinge8---0-
Mohinder Amarnath lbw b Congdon45---0-
Madan Lal c †Wadsworth b DR Hadlee5---0-
Syed Kirmani lbw b Collinge27---0-
Erapalli Prasanna c Roberts b DR Hadlee1--00-
Bishan Bedi (c)c Howarth b Collinge30-5030-
Bhagwath Chandrasekhar not out 2--00-
Extras(b 6, lb 4, nb 10)20
TOTAL(60.6 Ov, RR: 4.44)270
Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Sunil Gavaskar), 2-41 (Dilip Vengsarkar), 3-52 (Surinder Amarnath), 4-98 (Brijesh Patel), 5-196 (Gundappa Viswanath), 6-204 (Mohinder Amarnath), 7-204 (Madan Lal), 8-206 (Erapalli Prasanna), 9-258 (Bishan Bedi), 10-270 (Syed Kirmani)
Richard Collinge16.606362.82---00
Richard Hadlee1217504.68---00
Dayle Hadlee1607633.56---00
Bevan Congdon1633611.68---00
New Zealand 1st INNINGS
John Morrison lbw b Madan Lal31-9430-
Glenn Turner (c)c †Kirmani b M Amarnath117-41190-
Bevan Congdon st †Kirmani b Bedi58-16850-
John Parker c Bedi b M Amarnath44-13560-
Mark Burgess c & b Madan Lal31-12940-
Andy Roberts lbw b Madan Lal17---0-
Ken Wadsworth c †Kirmani b Madan Lal29--30-
Dayle Hadlee c †Kirmani b Madan Lal10-2901-
Richard Hadlee c †Kirmani b M Amarnath33-6931-
Richard Collinge c †Kirmani b M Amarnath0-600-
Hedley Howarth not out 8-50-0-
Extras(b 8, lb 14, nb 3)25
TOTAL(132.1 Ov, RR: 3.05)403
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (John Morrison), 2-170 (Bevan Congdon), 3-254 (John Parker), 4-260 (Glenn Turner), 5-293 (Andy Roberts), 6-325 (Mark Burgess), 7-347 (Dayle Hadlee), 8-360 (Ken Wadsworth), 9-361 (Richard Collinge), 10-403 (Richard Hadlee)
Madan Lal43913452.33---00
Mohinder Amarnath25.156341.88---00
Bhagwath Chandrasekhar1526003.00---00
Bishan Bedi3375911.34---00
Erapalli Prasanna1616202.90---00
India 2nd INNINGS
Sunil Gavaskar c Howarth b DR Hadlee71-20371-
Dilip Vengsarkar c †Wadsworth b RJ Hadlee30-7530-
Surinder Amarnath c †Wadsworth b Collinge21---0-
Gundappa Viswanath c †Wadsworth b Roberts79-20870-
Brijesh Patel c Morrison b Parker7---0-
Mohinder Amarnath c †Wadsworth b Howarth30---0-
Madan Lal not out 4---0-
Syed Kirmani not out 1--00-
Extras(b 2, lb 3, nb 6, w 1)12
TOTAL(79 Ov, RR: 3.22)255/6
Fall of wickets: 1-60 (Dilip Vengsarkar), 2-97 (Surinder Amarnath), 3-138 (Sunil Gavaskar), 4-175 (Brijesh Patel), 5-250 (Mohinder Amarnath), 6-250 (Gundappa Viswanath)
Richard Collinge1413611.92---00
Richard Hadlee1426413.42---00
Dayle Hadlee1215213.25---00
Bevan Congdon52500.75---00
Hedley Howarth2274811.63---00
John Parker522413.60---00
Andy Roberts511211.80---00
Mark Burgess21200.75---00
Lancaster Park, Christchurch
TossIndia, elected to bat first
SeriesIndia tour of New Zealand
Series resultIndia led the 3-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 771
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Andy Roberts
Andy Roberts
New Zealand Image
Dennis Copps
New Zealand Image
Ralph Gardiner
Balls per over8
Thu, 05 Feb - day 1 - New Zealand 1st innings 26/0 (John Morrison 11*, Glenn Turner 9*)
Fri, 06 Feb - day 2 - New Zealand 1st innings 237/2 (Glenn Turner 101*, John Parker 39*)
Sat, 07 Feb - day 3 - no play
Sun, 08 Feb - day 4 - New Zealand 1st innings 361/9 (Richard Hadlee 5*)
Mon, 09 Feb - day 5 - India 2nd innings 16/0 (Sunil Gavaskar 5*, Dilip Vengsarkar 9*)
Tue, 10 Feb - day 6 - India 2nd innings 255/6 (79 ov) - end of match
  • Match extended by 1 day (the scheduled rest day March 9 became a playing day after the 3rd day was washed out)