4th Test, Hyderabad (Sind), Jan 14 - 19 1983, India tour of Pakistan
(f/o) 189 & 273
Pakistan won by an innings and 119 runs
Player Of The Match
Pakistan 1st INNINGS
Mohsin Khan lbw b Sandhu2452874046.15
Mudassar Nazar c Maninder Singh b Doshi23144462721152.02
Haroon Rasheed  b Sandhu011000.00
Javed Miandad not out 28046069619160.86
Zaheer Abbas not out 2543721058.13
Extras(b 9, lb 12)21
TOTAL(166 Ov, RR: 3.50)581/3d
Fall of wickets: 1-60 (Mohsin Khan), 2-60 (Haroon Rasheed), 3-511 (Mudassar Nazar)
Kapil Dev27211104.11---00
Balwinder Sandhu33710723.24---00
Mohinder Amarnath1506404.26---00
Maninder Singh501013502.70---00
Dilip Doshi41914313.48---00
India 1st INNINGS
Sunil Gavaskar (c)c †Wasim Bari b Imran Khan1756713030.35
Kris Srikkanth lbw b Sarfraz Nawaz24100050.00
Mohinder Amarnath st †Wasim Bari b Iqbal Qasim611291877047.28
Gundappa Viswanath lbw b Imran Khan022000.00
Dilip Vengsarkar c †Wasim Bari b Imran Khan4881050.00
Kapil Dev  b Imran Khan39140033.33
Syed Kirmani  b Imran Khan1440025.00
Sandeep Patil c Imran Khan b Sarfraz Nawaz211240018.18
Balwinder Sandhu  b Sarfraz Nawaz71881109280.68
Maninder Singh not out 1232481037.50
Dilip Doshi lbw b Imran Khan1570020.00
Extras(b 1, lb 7, nb 7)15
TOTAL(56.2 Ov, RR: 3.35)189
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Kris Srikkanth), 2-44 (Sunil Gavaskar), 3-44 (Gundappa Viswanath), 4-52 (Dilip Vengsarkar), 5-61 (Kapil Dev), 6-65 (Syed Kirmani), 7-72 (Sandeep Patil), 8-131 (Mohinder Amarnath), 9-184 (Balwinder Sandhu), 10-189 (Dilip Doshi)
Imran Khan17.233562.01---00
Sarfraz Nawaz1945632.94---00
Abdul Qadir1123503.18---00
Iqbal Qasim934815.33---00
Sunil Gavaskar (c)c & b Iqbal Qasim601422267042.25
Kris Srikkanth c Saleem Malik b Imran Khan517210029.41
Mohinder Amarnath c Imran Khan b Iqbal Qasim642102135130.47
Gundappa Viswanath lbw b Sarfraz Nawaz37841066044.04
Dilip Vengsarkar not out 581432063040.55
Kapil Dev  b Sarfraz Nawaz2690033.33
Syed Kirmani lbw b Sarfraz Nawaz058000.00
Sandeep Patil c Imran Khan b Abdul Qadir923312039.13
Balwinder Sandhu c Imran Khan b Abdul Qadir1227300044.44
Maninder Singh lbw b Sarfraz Nawaz4861050.00
Dilip Doshi  b Imran Khan1415192093.33
Extras(b 1, lb 1, nb 6)8
TOTAL(111.4 Ov, RR: 2.44)273
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Kris Srikkanth), 2-133 (Sunil Gavaskar), 3-134 (Mohinder Amarnath), 4-201 (Gundappa Viswanath), 5-203 (Kapil Dev), 6-203 (Syed Kirmani), 7-223 (Sandeep Patil), 8-249 (Balwinder Sandhu), 9-254 (Maninder Singh), 10-273 (Dilip Doshi)
Imran Khan24.4144521.82---00
Sarfraz Nawaz3048542.83---00
Abdul Qadir2677722.96---00
Iqbal Qasim3195821.87---00
Niaz Stadium, Hyderabad, Sind
TossPakistan, elected to bat first
SeriesIndia tour of Pakistan
Player Of The Match
Javed Miandad
Javed Miandad
Series resultPakistan led the 6-match series 3-0
Match numberTest no. 946
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Balwinder Sandhu
Balwinder Sandhu
Pakistan Image
Javed Akhtar
Pakistan Image
Khizer Hayat
Fri, 14 Jan - day 1 - Pakistan 1st innings 224/2 (Mudassar Nazar 92*, Javed Miandad 96*)
Sat, 15 Jan - day 2 - Pakistan 1st innings 515/3 (Javed Miandad 238*, Zaheer Abbas 4*)
Sun, 16 Jan - day 3 - India 1st innings 189
Mon, 17 Jan - rest day
Tue, 18 Jan - day 4 - India 2nd innings 198/3 (Gundappa Viswanath 37*, Dilip Vengsarkar 26*)
Wed, 19 Jan - day 5 - India 2nd innings 273 (111.4 ov) - end of match
  • Pak 1st innings
  • Mudassar Nazar: 231 runs, 627 min., 444b, 21x4, 1x6
  • Javed Miandad: 280 runs, 606 min., 460 balls, 19x4, 1x6
  • 3rd wicket partnership of 451 in 533 minutes
  • Their partnership equalled the world record (at the time) of D.G. Bradman and W.H. Ponsford in 1934
  • The first time two Pakistanis have scored double-centuries in the same innings (the 5th time ever)
  • Zaheer Abbas passes 4000 runs, the first Pakistani to do so.
  • Ind 1st innings
  • Imran Khan took 5/8 in 23 balls