3rd Test, Bridgetown, March 27 - 31, 1997, India tour of West Indies
298 & 140
(T:120) 319 & 81

West Indies won by 38 runs

Player Of The Match
West Indies 1st Innings
India 1st Innings
West Indies 2nd Innings
India 2nd Innings
Match Details
West Indies 1st Innings 
Sherwin Campbell c Azharuddin b Prasad611111054.54
Stuart Williams c Laxman b Ganesh2441605058.53
Shivnarine Chanderpaul not out 13728444612048.23
Brian Lara (c)c Tendulkar b Prasad1957863033.33
Carl Hooper c †Mongia b Ganesh1930443063.33
Roland Holder c Azharuddin b Prasad516211031.25
Courtney Browne c Tendulkar b Kumble2474944032.43
Ian Bishop  b Prasad47130057.14
Curtly Ambrose c Tendulkar b Kuruvilla3761866060.65
Franklyn Rose run out (Prasad/†Mongia/Kumble)1116292068.75
Mervyn Dillon lbw b Prasad0417000.00
Extras(lb 5, nb 7)12
TOTAL98.4 Ov (RR: 3.02)298
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Sherwin Campbell), 2-40 (Stuart Williams), 3-88 (Brian Lara), 4-118 (Carl Hooper), 5-131 (Roland Holder), 6-187 (Courtney Browne), 7-193 (Ian Bishop), 8-258 (Curtly Ambrose), 9-290 (Franklyn Rose), 10-298 (Mervyn Dillon)
Venkatesh Prasad31.498252.58---02
Abey Kuruvilla2848813.14---00
Dodda Ganesh2127023.33---06
Anil Kumble1614412.75---01
Sourav Ganguly21904.50---00
India 1st Innings 
VVS Laxman  b Ambrose634400017.64
Navjot Sidhu c †Browne b Rose2631576083.87
Rahul Dravid  b Bishop782433728032.09
Sachin Tendulkar (c)c Campbell b Bishop9214722214162.58
Sourav Ganguly c †Browne b Dillon2253753041.50
Mohammad Azharuddin c †Browne b Rose17701181024.28
Nayan Mongia c Williams b Bishop11420007.14
Anil Kumble not out 2353811043.39
Abey Kuruvilla  b Ambrose077000.00
Dodda Ganesh c †Browne b Rose824301033.33
Venkatesh Prasad c Holder b Rose022000.00
Extras(b 2, lb 12, nb 30, w 2)46
TOTAL106 Ov (RR: 3.00)319
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (VVS Laxman), 2-42 (Navjot Sidhu), 3-212 (Sachin Tendulkar), 4-253 (Sourav Ganguly), 5-273 (Rahul Dravid), 6-275 (Nayan Mongia), 7-295 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 8-296 (Abey Kuruvilla), 9-319 (Dodda Ganesh), 10-319 (Venkatesh Prasad)
Curtly Ambrose2987422.55---021
Ian Bishop2867032.50---09
Mervyn Dillon1955612.94---14
Franklyn Rose2247743.50---08
Carl Hooper812803.50---00
West Indies 2nd Innings 
Sherwin Campbell c †Mongia b Ganesh1858774031.03
Stuart Williams  b Prasad0713000.00
Shivnarine Chanderpaul lbw b Kuruvilla313180023.07
Brian Lara (c)c Azharuddin b Prasad45671046067.16
Carl Hooper lbw b Ganesh414250028.57
Roland Holder c †Mongia b Prasad1330512043.33
Courtney Browne c †Mongia b Kuruvilla1440025.00
Ian Bishop lbw b Kuruvilla612221050.00
Curtly Ambrose not out 1830602060.00
Franklyn Rose c Ganguly b Kuruvilla420280020.00
Mervyn Dillon  b Kuruvilla21172331123.52
Extras(lb 5, nb 2)7
TOTAL45 Ov (RR: 3.11)140
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Stuart Williams), 2-18 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul), 3-37 (Sherwin Campbell), 4-65 (Carl Hooper), 5-86 (Brian Lara), 6-87 (Courtney Browne), 7-91 (Roland Holder), 8-95 (Ian Bishop), 9-107 (Franklyn Rose), 10-140 (Mervyn Dillon)
Venkatesh Prasad1863932.16---00
Abey Kuruvilla2156853.23---02
Dodda Ganesh612824.66---00
India 2nd Innings (T: 120 runs)
VVS Laxman  b Rose1961772031.14
Navjot Sidhu c Williams b Rose310220030.00
Rahul Dravid c †Browne b Rose22136009.52
Sachin Tendulkar (c)c Lara b Bishop414250028.57
Sourav Ganguly  b Ambrose818252044.44
Mohammad Azharuddin  b Ambrose914262064.28
Nayan Mongia  b Bishop524390020.83
Anil Kumble c Holder b Bishop1680016.66
Dodda Ganesh not out 630590020.00
Abey Kuruvilla c Holder b Ambrose921250042.85
Venkatesh Prasad  b Bishop01010000.00
Extras(b 2, lb 2, nb 11)15
TOTAL35.5 Ov (RR: 2.26)81
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Navjot Sidhu), 2-16 (Rahul Dravid), 3-32 (VVS Laxman), 4-32 (Sachin Tendulkar), 5-45 (Sourav Ganguly), 6-51 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 7-57 (Anil Kumble), 8-66 (Nayan Mongia), 9-80 (Abey Kuruvilla), 10-81 (Venkatesh Prasad)
Curtly Ambrose1533632.40---08
Ian Bishop11.542241.85---00
Franklyn Rose921932.11---06
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
TossIndia, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
West Indies
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Series resultWest Indies led the 5-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 1363
Match daysday (5-day match)
West Indies
Lloyd Barker
Steve Randell
TV Umpire
West Indies
HA Moore
Match Referee
South Africa
Peter van der Merwe
Thu, 27 Mar - day 1 - West Indies 1st innings 240/7 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul 102*, Curtly Ambrose 28*)
Fri, 28 Mar - rest day
Sat, 29 Mar - day 2 - India 1st innings 249/3 (Rahul Dravid 71*, Sourav Ganguly 21*)
Sun, 30 Mar - day 3 - India 2nd innings 2/0 (VVS Laxman 0*, Navjot Sidhu 2*)
Mon, 31 Mar - day 4 - India 2nd innings 81 (35.5 ov) - end of match
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
  • Kuruvilla picks up maiden 5 wkt haul.
  • West Indies skittled out for their lowest score against India.
  • India had to bat for 6 overs. Bad light stopped the play. For the third straight day, play was extended by another hour after the close of play time.
India Innings
<1 / 3>